How much does a continuous seller bond cost in Texas?
The Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts requires all retailers in the state to obtain a continuous bond of seller before conducting business. The required bond amount varies based on the retailer’s total revenue accrued in the previous calendar year and is ultimately determined by the Comptroller. The maximum bond amount is $100,000 or 4 times the amount of the retailer’s average monthly tax liability, whichever is greater.
The cost of this bond is subject to underwriting, which means the price you’ll pay is based not only on your required bond amount but also on a review of your personal credit report. Contact one of our surety specialists to find out exactly how much you’ll pay for your Texas sales tax bond!
|Bond Type||Bond Amount||Cost by Credit Score*|
|680 and up||679 - 600||599 or lower|
|Continuous Bond of Seller (Sales Tax)||Varies||Starts at $100||4-8%||10%+||Apply Now|
We can provide you with a no-obligation quote on a Texas sales tax bond within 1 business day of receiving your application. What are you waiting for? Click here or call 1 (800) 308-4358 to apply now!
Why do I need this bond?
By posting a Texas continuous bond of seller, the principal (retailer) agrees to pay all sales tax on items sold. If the principal fails to submit the required tax payments, the state can file a claim against the principal. Initially, the surety is responsible for covering all damages up to the full bond amount, but the principal must reimburse the surety for all damages paid out.
Sellers and retailers required to obtain this bond include:
- persons making sales at auctions of tangible personal property
- persons who make more than 2 sales during a 12-month period
- hotel, motel, or office owners that contract for telecommunications services
- persons who regularly solicit sales of taxable items by distributing advertising
- persons authorized to sell, rent or lease property
- and more
Ready to purchase your Texas sales tax bond? Get started here!
What’s the fine print?
The Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts requires all retailers and persons selling taxable merchandise in the state to post a sales tax surety bond. In the event of cancellation, the surety must give the Comptroller of Public Accounts a written cancellation notice 30 days prior to the effective termination date. The surety remains liable for any claims brought against the bond during this 30-day period.
These bonds expire annually on December 31.
Ready to get started?