Arkansas Home Appraisal Firms Will Have to Post $20,000 Surety Bond in 2010

 

appraiser-bondsHome appraisers and appraisal management companies in Arkansas will soon be required to post a $20,000 surety bond with the state’s real estate appraiser board.

The bond is among a host of regulatory changes for the industry, part of new legislation that will take effect January 1, 2010. The new laws will require that appraisal management companies verify they utilize only licensed or certified appraisers and ensure appraisals comply with industry standards.

Arkansas is one of the first states in the nation to enact tougher home appraiser regulations. So far, it’s the only state to mandate that appraisers obtain a surety bond. These bonds will allow consumers, appraisers and other parties to file claims against a bond and potentially recover any losses.

Appraisers and others can view the new regulations here.

Get your bond with SuretyBonds.com today – apply in just two minutes!

Like this article or stay up to date on everything you need to know by subscribing to the RSS feed and get all the articles delivered to you free.

Trackbacks

  1. [...] consumer protection a step further, Arkansas became the first state to add a surety bond requirement to its appraisal management statutes. The new legislation requires that AMCs post a $20,000 surety [...]

  2. […] consumer protection a step further, Arkansas became the first state to add a surety bond requirement to its appraisal management statutes. The new legislation requires that AMCs post a $20,000 surety […]