The Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology has established new bonding requirements for barber schools within the state. On May 9, Governor Mary Fallin passed SB 1929, which amends the Oklahoma Cosmetology and Barbering Act to require barber schools to execute surety bonds.
Who Does This Concern?
Barber Schools – establishments that teach barbering
Why Should I Care?
The new bonding requirements for Oklahoma barber schools allow for unlicensed barber schools to be subject to fines and penalties from the State Board of Cosmetology. To be licensed, barber schools need to submit an initial license fee of $400. For annual license renewals, the fees are $125 per school. Additionally, barber schools need to show proof of a surety bond with their license application.
The requirement for this bond is $2,000 for the first instructor, and then $1,000 for each additional instructor employed by the school.
Barber schools must have one instructor for every 15 students enrolled in the school. This bond helps ensure the instructors will comply with the rules and regulations outlined in the Oklahoma Cosmetology and Barbering Act. If there are damages as a result of violations of this bond, the obligee can file a claim against the principal (barber school). The surety will reimburse the obligee up to the penal sum of the bond, but the principal must pay the surety the equivalent sum of money.
What’s the Next Step?
Barber schools in Oklahoma need a surety bond to be licensed to educate. Schools should contact a reliable surety provider to receive a quote for their bond. SuretyBonds.com employs a team of surety experts familiar with the recent bonding changes for barber schools in Oklahoma. If you have any questions or wish to receive a free quote for your barber license bond, give us a call at 1 (800) 308-4358 or submit a bond application online. SuretyBonds.com commits itself to efficient and customer-oriented bond services.
photo credit: theversatilegent.com