Cosmetology schools that charge tuition in Louisiana will need to post a $30,000 surety bond following the passage of Senate Bill 183. The new law takes effect on August 1, 2016.
Current law mandates that schools must post a $5,000 surety bond. The bond protects students in the event that the school closes before completing the services they have paid for. Students can be reimbursed the cost of their tuition if it closes before they complete their curriculum.
To open a cosmetology school in Louisiana, submit the following information to the state Board of Cosmetology:
- Notification of intent to open, including business plan and financial statements (must be approved before moving forward)
- Detailed floor plan, drawn to scale
- $100 school premises inspection fee
- Maximum enrollment number
- Copy of building or property’s lease, if applicable
- Report from fire safety inspector indicating fire safety requirements have been met
- Notarized statements from intended teachers, stating their agreements to teach
- Copy of proposed curriculum and daily schedule for course of study
- $300 final inspection fee
- $315 new school application fee
Cosmetology schools must adhere to the laws and procedures stipulated in Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 46: XXXI.
SB 183 also contains new regulations for salons offering cosmetology, esthetics or manicuring services. The bill requires owners who are not personally licensed to provide the services their salon offers to employ at least one office manager who is licensed. The office manager must be present at the salon for all hours of operation.
Contact the Louisiana Board of Cosmetology with questions about opening a cosmetology school in the state. SuretyBonds.com can help you get bonded in Louisiana.