CA Car Dealers Bonds May Double

car dealers

California car dealers are facing legislation that would require a bond increase from $50,000 to $100,000. Dealers who sell trailers used exclusively to transport vessels may also be affected. If the bill passes the state will require dealers who sell trailers to obtain a $50,000 California MVD.

The text reviews the expectations for dealers with required surety bonds: if a customer suffers loss or damage at the hands of the dealer then that person has a right to take action against the dealer and his surety. In this bill there are a few minor changes in wording regarding payment of sureties.

The bill is called the Car Buyers’ Protection Act of 2009 and can be tracked as SB 95.

Sign Up for Surety News!

About the Author Administrator
At, our #1 goal is to get our clients bonded quickly, easily and accurately at the best price possible. We're passionate about putting people first, growing through education, and innovating and simplifying the bonding process. We want our customers to have the tools to make an informed surety bond purchase.