Beginning June 1, 2015, all Level I and Level II private investigators in Colorado must adhere to recent changes in legislation and post a surety bond in the amount of $10,000. Prior to this amendment, individuals were not required to secure a surety bond before conducting services as a private investigator due to the Private Investigators Voluntary Licensure Act. This act was repealed on June 6, 2014 and is being replaced by the Private Investigators Licensure Act, generating a new licensure program that is no longer voluntary. Individuals are now strictly required by the State to post this bond in order to conduct business.
With the adoption of this new rule, private investigators are expected to meet all credentials stated in section 12-58.5-106 requiring them to obtain a license from the Director of the Department of Regulatory Agencies. Performing private investigation services without first obtaining the proper license is considered unlawful in the state of Colorado. Applicants seeking Level I or Level II private investigator licenses must meet the following criteria:
- at least 21 years of age
- citizens of the United States
Applicants additionally must be able to demonstrate an understanding of all rules and regulations involving private investigators by passing the appropriate exam approved by the Director
These licenses must be obtained before the enforcement of the Private Investigators Licensure Act starting June 1, 2015.
All previous voluntary private investigator licenses are now considered expired.
This new act was put in place to ensure that all services performed by private investigators in the state of Colorado are being conducted ethically and in their clients’ best interest. Licensees can expect to receive a pro-rated refund of an amount determined on a case-by-case basis. For more information regarding these legislation changes, please visit the Colorado Office of Private Investigator Licensure.
If you have additional questions regarding this new requirement, a dedicated SuretyBonds.com agent may be reached online or by phone at 1 (800) 308-4358. Our bond experts are familiar with these revisions and will be able to guarantee individuals affected by this change are bonded accurately and at a competitive rate. Although June 1, 2015 is the effective date, individuals are encouraged to apply before then. Get started today by submitting a quote request here.
photo credit: consulting-detective.com