Commercial license and permit surety bonds offer financial protection for a variety of industries by reinforcing licensing rules and regulations established to protect consumers. Several states recently passed new or amended commercial surety bond legislation across the financial, educational, combative sports, and automotive industries.
Michigan Establishes New Barber School Surety Bond Requirement
Starting May 4, 2020, Michigan House Bill 4335 clarifies the provisions for barber colleges. Additionally, the act establishes the powers of the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs in relation to barber training.
The state of Michigan requires barber education programs to file and maintain a $10,000 surety bond with the Department. HB 4335 specifies the bond is for the benefit of the students. Moreover, the bond will ensure the honest performance of the college and the satisfaction of the acknowledged rights of the students.
In addition to the surety bond requirement, barber colleges must provide a curriculum that teaches students pre-licensing requirements for barbers. Michigan compels barber colleges to possess the proper equipment and training materials, operate strictly for training purposes, and provide a competent and licensed instructor.
Virginia Raises Threshold for Business Licensing Waiver
Virginia House Bill 466 was enacted on March 10, 2020. HB 466 raises the threshold for the requirement of local business waivers. Simply put, companies with gross receipts of $200,000 or less in any county, city, or town with a population of less than 50,000 may be able to waive business or professional licensing requirements. Previously, companies with gross receipts of less than $100,000 were able to forgo licensing stipulations.
The state of Virginia also imposes due dates and penalties. People applying for a license should expect to pay a license tax when submitting their application.
Wyoming Amends Combat Sports Commission License and Bond Requirements
On March 17, 2020, the state of Wyoming passed House Bill 102. HB 102 renames the Board of Mixed Martial Arts to the Wyoming Combat Sports Commission. Additionally, the bill details the duties of the board and the requirements for licensing.
Along with paying a fee with the submission of an application for licensure, applicants must meet a surety bond requirement. The Wyoming Combat Sports Commission sets the bond amount at no greater than $10,000 or the total estimated costs of the match.
Oregon Increases Auto Dismantler Surety Bond to $100,000
On July 23, 2019, the state of Oregon passed Senate Bill 792. Act 792 went into effect on the first day of this year. Essentially, this act creates new provisions for auto dismantlers. More specifically, the new provisions include allowing an inspection of any business and submitting a fire response plan. Furthermore, auto dismantlers must agree to a yearly inspection of the property by local fire inspectors. Also, the surety bond requirement increased from $10,000 to $100,000.
Renewal of a certificate under ORS 822.125 is subject to proof of a surety bond purchase or a submission of a letter of credit. Oregon issues auto dismantler certificates for a three-year term. As stated in Act 792, the Department of Transportation has the right to suspend, revoke, or cancel the certificate if an auto dismantler violates the stipulations.
Maine Establishes Motorcycle Education School Surety Bond
Maine House Bill 1267 was signed into law on September 19, 2019. HB 1267 details provisions for motorcycle education schools. The requirements include providing a classroom for practicing and displaying a business sign at the licensed place of business. Also, education schools must show proof of liability insurance purchase to the Maine Secretary of State. Additionally, motorcycle rider education schools must maintain a surety bond in the amount of $10,000.
Operating a motorcycle rider education school without a license is a Class E crime and viewed as a traffic infraction. The Secretary of State may revoke, suspend, or refuse to issue a renewal license to applicants who do not comply with the aforementioned stipulations.
Rhode Island Amends Mortgage Industry Surety Bond Requirements
House Bill 5847 passed on July 15, 2019, and the effective date was January 1, 2020. HB 5847 revises the bond amount for applicants. The bill sorts the bond amount by business type; small-loan lenders, loan brokers, and lenders must obtain surety bonds.
HB 5847 defines small-loan lenders as “a lender engaged in the business of making small loans within this state.” They must obtain a bond of $10,000. Loan brokers are characterized as “any person or entity who or that, for compensation or gain, or in the expectation of compensation or gain, either directly or indirectly, solicits, processes, negotiates, places, or sells a loan within this state for others in the primary market, or offers to do so.” Under the bill, loan brokers must procure a bond in the amount of $20,000. Lastly, a lender “means any person who makes or funds a loan within this state with the person’s own funds, regardless of whether the person is the nominal mortgagee or creditor on the instrument evidencing the loan.” Lenders in the state of Rhode Island must possess a $50,000 surety bond.
How do I get a surety bond?
You can find the surety bond you need online 24/7 or call 1(800)308-4358 to speak with a surety expert about your bonding needs.
Founded in 2009, SuretyBonds.com has streamlined the direct-to-consumer bonding experience by providing efficient, innovative, and informed surety bond solutions nationwide. SuretyBonds.com leads the surety industry in publishing bond legislation and other breaking surety news.