New Hampshire House Bill 666 went into effect on January 1, 2016, establishing licensing procedures for money transmitters in the state. The changes appear in Revised Statutes Title 36, Chapter 399-G.
The enacted bill includes a surety bond requirement. Those applying to be licensed money transmitters must post a $100,000 bond. The bond ensures that money transmitters do not misuse the funds they handle and adhere to all applicable laws.
The New Hampshire Banking Department has a dedicated page for license applicants. The licensing application is extensive and some of the licensing requirements are listed below:
- Applicant’s name and name of business, including any other names the applicant or business will use
- Applicant’s contact information (address, phone number, business phone number, and business website)
- Money transmitter licenses and pending applications in other states
- Registration of the business’s name and trade name with the Secretary of State
- $100,000 surety bond
- Applicant’s fingerprint card
- $49.75 processing fee for record check
- Applicant’s complete financial statement
- Copies of any contracts, agreements, receipts and disclosures that will be used in conducting business
- FinCEN registration form
Visit the Banking Department’s dedicated page to view all of the forms for the application process, and contact them with licensing questions. SuretyBonds.com can answer your questions about purchasing a money transmitter bond in New Hampshire.