As of October 15, 2016, Utah vehicle safety inspection stations will need to increase their surety bond amount to $10,000. Prior to the adoption of the new regulations by the Utah Department of Public Safety, only a $1,000 surety bond was required.
Vehicles in Utah are required to be inspected when they are four, eight, and ten years old, and every year thereafter. Safety inspection stations must adhere to the following requirements in order to obtain a new permit or retain their permit:
- Employ a certified station manager
- Maintain a $10,000 surety bond
- Valid business license for the inspection station
- Valid business registration through the Utah Department of Commerce
- Enroll station in the online inspection program after receiving approval from the Vehicle Safety Inspection division of the Utah Highway Patrol (the division)
- Completed permit application provided by the division
- Non-refundable permit application fee
Safety inspectors are required to take a 16-hour course and pass a final test before performing inspections. The surety bond requirement ensures that safety inspections are conducted in accordance with the law. If an applicant or licensee violates any provisions of Rule R714-158, they can face denial, suspension or revocation of their license.