Hearing aid specialists in the state of Washington may have new licensing requirements coming soon via House Bill 2108. The bill would required apprentice hearing aid specialists to obtain a permit in accordance with the Revised Codes of Washington laws that currently impact active practitioners exclusively. The text of the bill currently states:
“(1) Every individual engaged in the fitting and dispensing of hearing instruments shall be covered by a surety bond of ten thousand dollars or more, for the benefit of any person injured or damaged as a result of any violation by the licensee or permit holder, or their employees or agents, or any of the provisions of this chapter or rules adopted by the secretary.”
Essentially, hearing aid dispensers will have to post a surety bond amounting to $10,000 or more to be renewed annually. Typically, hearing aid specialists in Washington will pay just 1-3% of the bond amount ($100-300) when they work with SuretyBonds.com.
Washington representatives in the Rules Committee received a copy of the proposed legislation on January 28. According to their website, the committee “considers all bills reported from policy and fiscal committees and determines whether, and in what order, to schedule their consideration on the floor of the House. The Rules Committee also reviews, adopts and schedules consideration of floor resolutions.”
Until Governor Inslee signs the bill into law, apprentice hearing aid specialists will not have a permit requirement. To monitor the prospective surety bond requirement’s progress, click here. Check back for updates regarding this legislation here on the Surety Bond Insider.
If you need a surety bond in Washington or any other state, contact SuretyBonds.com online 24/7 or by phone at 1 (800) 308-4358 between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. CST Monday through Friday.
UPDATE: HB 2108 was signed into law by Governor Inslee on April 2, with an effective date of June 12, 2014.