Effective January 1, the Minnesota Construction Codes and Licensing Division of the Department of Labor and Industry now requires mechanical contractors to file their $25,000 Minnesota mechanical bond for two-year terms instead of one-year terms.
Minnesota Statutes 326.992 requires a $25,000 license and permit bond to be filed by those contracted to install certain mechanical equipment. Mechanical professionals subject to the Minnesota surety bond requirement include those who work with
- air conditioning
- fuel burning
- gas piping
- hot water heat
According to a June 27, 2003, memorandum that outlines the statewide surety bond and filing fee requirements for mechanical work:
This bond is for the benefit of persons suffering financial loss by reason of the contractor’s failure to comply with the requirements of the State Mechanical Code. Furthermore, a statewide surety bond will eliminate duplication of multiple bonds required of mechanical contractors who work in more than one jurisdiction.
Applicants will submit the original copy of their legally executed Minnesota mechanical surety bond to:
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
CCLD: Licensing and Certification Services
PO Box 64220
St. Paul, MN 55164
For more information on the Minnesota mechanical surety bond, contact the Construction Codes and Licensing Division of the Department of Labor and Industry at (800) 657-3944.