Governor Mark Dayton of Minnesota signed revisions to Section 256B.0659 of the Minnesota Statutes into law. The law — which requires all personal care assistant provider agencies to have a surety bond at the time of enrollment, re-enrollment and revalidation — went into effect on May 24, 2013.
The new bond requirements are stated in 256B.0659.
“Subd. 21. Requirements for provider enrollment of personal care assistance provider agencies.
(a) All personal care assistance provider agencies must provide, at the time of enrollment, reenrollment, and revalidation as a personal care assistance provider agency in a format determined by the commissioner, information and documentation that includes, but is not limited to, the following:
(1) the personal care assistance provider agency’s current contact information including address, telephone number, and e-mail address;
(2) proof of surety bond coverage. Upon new enrollment, or if the provider’s Medicaid revenue in the previous calendar year is up to and including $300,000, the provider agency must purchase a performance bond of $50,000. If the Medicaid revenue in the previous year is over $300,000, the provider agency must purchase a performance bond of $100,000. The performance bond must be in a form approved by the commissioner, must be renewed annually, and must allow for recovery of costs and fees in pursuing a claim on the bond;”
This means that personal care assistant agencies that received less than $300,000 in Medicaid revenue over the last year are required to have a $50,000 surety bond when they enroll. Personal care assistant agencies that made more than $300,000 in Medicaid revenue over the last year are required to purchase a $100,000 surety bond before they enroll. This is a change from the prior law that required a $50,000 surety bond for all personal care assistant agencies.
Click here to read the full text of 256B.0659.