N.J.S.A. 45:16A-1 — also known as the “State Heating, Ventilating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Contracting License Law” (Act) — was published on April 15, 2013. The date of enaction for this legislation was set for October 15, 2013, but was later extended to March 1, 2014, to allow time to develop a licensing exam.
On March 1, 2014, the State Board of Examiner of Heating, Ventilating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Contractors began accepting licensing applications. As part of the licensing requirements, heating, ventilating, air conditioning and refrigeration (HVACR) contractors in New Jersey must post a $3,000 surety bond. These bonds last for a two-year term, and bonds and licenses must be renewed by June 30 of every other year beginning in June 2016. This means that HVAC contractors in New Jersey must post a $3,000 surety bond by June 30, 2014.
The legislation includes a provision that authorizes the Board to issue Master HVACR licenses based on experience without examination for a six-month “grandfathering” period spanning from March 1 to September 1, 2014. During this time, individuals currently practicing as HVACR contractors may submit an application for licensure without meeting the new education or examination requirements.
Inquiries or complaints can be forwarded to the State Board of Examiners of Heating, Ventilating, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration (HVACR) Contractors at the following address:
P.O. Box 47031 Newark, N.J. 07101 (973) 504-6250
Don’t fall behind on this new bonding requirement. The experts at SuretyBonds.com have this bond form on file and are ready to answer all of your questions and get you bonded quickly, easily and accurately. If you need a surety bond in New Jersey or any other state, contact SuretyBonds.com online 24/7 or by phone at 1 (800) 308-4358 Monday through Friday between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. CST.
[button font_size=”20″ color=”#0D8BD1″ text_color=”#ffffff” url=”https://www.suretybonds.com/quote” target=”_blank”]Get a Free Surety Bond Quote [/button]