Every Georgia public adjuster must receive a license from the Office of the Commissioner of Insurance prior to working within the state. To become a licensed adjuster, all requirements must be met in accordance with Section 33-23-6 of the Georgia Insurance Code and 120-2-3-.18 of the Georgia Insurance Department Rules and Regulations.
What Do Public Adjusters Do?
According to the Adjuster’s International website, “a public adjuster is an insurance professional who represents the interests of the policyholder in settling a property insurance claim. Public adjusters, such as those from Adjusters International, have special training and expertise in appraising, preparing and negotiating property damage and business interruption losses.”
Responsibilities of a public adjuster include, but are not necessarily limited to:
Evaluating commercial insurance policies to determine how to submit claims to the carrier
Documenting all details relating to damages or loss
Working on behalf of homeowners to negotiate with insurance companies
provide step-by-step information to homeowners as they go through the claims process
getting the maximum return for claimants
What is required to get a Georgia public adjuster license?
Prior to becoming a licensed public adjuster in Georgia, applicants must meet several requirements, including obtaining a bond, completing required coursework and paying all applicable fees. Specifically, adjusters must meet the following requirements before the commissioner will consider the application:
Complete a 40-hour property casualty pre-licensing course
Pass the Public Adjuster Examination
Complete an application form
Provide proof of a $5,000 surety bond
Pay a licensing fee and an application fee
Step 1: Complete a 40 Hour Pre-Licensing Course
Georgia public adjusters are required to take an approved 40-hour Property and Casualty course, including an adjuster supplement, and pass the Pearson VUE 12-GA-20 Public Adjuster Examination to obtain their license. This process is set forth by the Official Code of Georgia Annotated, Title 33, Chapter 23, and Chapter 120-2-3 of the Rules and Regulations of the Office of the Commissioner of Insurance cover the licensing of insurance agents, subagents, adjusters and counselors. Other license types are covered in specific code and rule sections.
Applicants are also required to submit electronic fingerprints in order to have a criminal background check run. Registration to submit electronic fingerprints may be completed by visiting the Georgia Applicant Processing Service. By selecting “Applicant Registration” applicants will be asked to choose for which option they are submitting fingerprints. Public Adjusters must choose the Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner, where they may register to be fingerprinted. At this point, payment and personal information will be requested from the applicant.
This pre-licensing course is available online for $199 and there are several sites offering online courses in public adjuster training. It is important to find one that fits the applicant’s style of learning, especially if the course is being completed online.
Step 2: Pass the Public Adjuster Examination
The Georgia Public Adjuster Exam is a two-hour, 100-question examination required by code 12-GA-20. Ninety-five of the questions cover national insurance rules, and five questions are specific to Georgia’s insurance law. The $63 examination fee must be paid at the time of reservation by credit card, debit card, voucher or electronic check; personal cash and checks are not accepted forms of payment for the exam. Applicants may request to purchase a voucher using a credit card. To redeem a voucher as payment when scheduling a test, applicants should indicate voucher as the payment method and provide the voucher number. All vouchers are pre-paid and are non-refundable and non-returnable. Test takers are also required to be fingerprinted.
Applicants should arrive roughly 30 minutes before the scheduled examination time. During this time they are to sign-in and show two forms of identification as required to take the exam. Test takers who arrive 15 minutes late for an exam and are refused admission are responsible for any examination and delivery fees. The primary identification must be government-issued and contain a photo as well as the applicant’s signature. The secondary identification must also contain a valid signature.
Examples of acceptable primary identification include:
Current valid and signed passport
Current valid and signed government-issued photo driving license (full or provisional)
Employee ID, work badge, military ID, or school ID
Examples of acceptable secondary identification include credit or debit cards, bank cards, or other form of primary identification.
Exam locations can be found on the Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner website. It is recommended to contact PearsonVUE at 1 (800) 274-0488 at least 24-48 hours before taking the exam.
Step 3: Complete an application form
The Resident Insurance License Application, or “GID-103-AL”, can be found on the Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner website. The application will ask for information such as the applicant’s name, address, and social security number. It also includes a yes or no questionnaire relating to previous insurance claims and practices, as well as information about whether or not the applicant has been convicted of any crimes.
There is also a portion of the application that asks whether or not the application is for a “Temporary License” or a “Limited Subagent License.” The difference between these is that the temporary license is granted in the case of emergency situations, such as hurricanes. The limited subagent license will be granted to those who have a sponsoring agent and have completed the requirements set forth by Rule 120-2-3-.31 of the State of Georgia Rules and Regulations.
Step 4: Provide proof of a $5,000 surety bond
Georgia public adjusters must obtain a $5,000 surety bond from an authorized surety provider. Public adjuster bonds are issued instantly for $100 and last for one year unless they are canceled or claimed against. The Georgia Commissioner of Insurance requires public adjusters to purchase this bond so that any mishandled claim will be covered up to $5,000 as provided in Section 33-23-6 of the Georgia Insurance Code annotated and in 120-2-3-.18 of the Georgia Insurance Department Rules and Regulations. Surety bonds for Georgia public adjusters are required to guarantee a specific sum of money is available to protect against any violation of the bond agreement on the part of the adjuster. Upon settling claims against the surety bond, the public adjuster will be required to reimburse the surety company for any money paid out up to the full amount of the bond. More information on Georgia public adjuster surety bonds may be found by visiting our website.
Step 5: Pay a licensing and application fee
Applicants are required to pay a licensing fee of $100 and an application fee of $15 at the time of submitting the application. The required $5,000 surety bond can be purchased instantly for just $100 by visiting our dedicated Georgia public adjuster page. Other costs include the prelicensing class fee of $199 and a $63 exam fee for a total cost of $477 to become a public adjuster.
Where should application materials be sent?
The completed application form and all other materials applicable to licensing may be mailed to PSI Services, LLC at the following address:
P.O. Box 742983,
Need more information?
Additional information regarding licensing and responsibilities of Georgia insurance adjusters is available by calling the Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner at (404) 656-2101 or visiting their website.
Or, watch this video to get a better understanding of the Georgia public adjuster licensing process.
Ready to get bonded?
If you still have questions about getting your bond, give us a call at 1 (800) 308-4358, and one of our surety experts will be happy to assist you. If you are simply looking to buy your bond, visit our Georgia public adjuster page, where you can purchase instantly for just $100 and have the original bond in your email inbox the very same day!