Contractors Working With an Arkansas Contractor License

How to get an Arkansas Contractor License

This Arkansas contractor license guide is for informational purposes only. does not regulate or manage licensing for contractors in Arkansas. Contact the Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board for the state’s latest official contractor license requirements.

Arkansas State Licensing Law for Contractors 17-25-101 requires state licensing for commercial contractors working on any project with a contract value of $50,000 or more (excluding single-family residences). Residential contractors must maintain a license if they work on projects with a contract value more than $2,000. Contract values include the cost of all materials, subcontractors, permits, and anything else required to complete the project.

If these qualifications apply to the construction work you perform, you must maintain an Arkansas state contractor license.

How to get an Arkansas Contractor License

How do I get a contractor license in Arkansas?

Step 1: Complete your application.

The Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board offers several types of contractor licenses and subcontractor registration certificates. If you need help determining which license you need, you can call the CLB at 1(501)372-4661 or email [email protected].

Note: Effective January 2022, contractors who perform residential roofing must be registered with the Residential Committee rather than carry a home improvement roofing license. If you perform other types of residential work in addition to roofing, you will also need a home improvement license.

Step 2: Provide appropriate business-style affidavit and affidavit regarding bidding.

You must sign the affidavit stating you're in compliance with all financial and bonding requirements for general contractors in Arkansas. This must be signed and notarized within the previous 90 days.

Step 3: Pay the filing fee.

Your $100 nonrefundable filing fee must be payable to the Contractors Licensing Board.

Step 4: Provide 3 written references.

Your 3 written references must meet the following requirements.

  • The reference cannot be from a supplier or banker, unless they have a good understanding of and can describe your work.
  • The person providing the reference must write it personally.
  • The reference letter must not be more than 90 days old.

Step 5: Provide a copy of your Arkansas Business and Law Exam passing test score.

Your license can be approved, but cannot be released, without a passing test score from your PSI exam. Review the Arkansas Business & Law Test Instructions for how to complete your exam. If you have additional questions about the exam, you can call the testing company at 1(800)733-9267.

Step 6: Purchase your Arkansas contractor license surety bond in the required amount.

Arkansas Contractors Bond Law 17-25-401 requires contractors file a surety bond with the state if they complete any construction work valued at more than $50,000. The purpose of an Arkansas contractor license bond is to ensure that the public will receive compensation for damages when contractors fail to comply with licensing laws. Your surety bond amount will vary depending on the type of work you do (commercial, residential builder, subcontractor, etc.).

You can buy your Arkansas contractor license bond online 24/7. The price of your bond will vary based on your license type and its required bond amount, but annual premiums start at $75.

Step 7: Produce an independent CPA report.

If you're applying for a restricted license, you must submit a compiled report including the following.

  • Report letter from an independent CPA
  • Balance sheet prepared in accordance with GAAP or on an income tax basis

If you're applying for a contractor license, you must submit a reviewed or audited report including the following.

  • Reviewed or audited opinion letter from an independent CPA
  • Balance sheet prepared in accordance with GAAP or on an income tax basis
  • All footnotes for the balance sheet

You can review Rules and Regulations Act 150 (224-25-6) for additional classifications.

Step 8: Supply a copy of your business articles/filings, if applicable.

If you're applying as a corporation, LLC, or LP, you must provide a copy of the Secretary of State articles or filings for your entity.

Step 9: Provide proof of insurance.

Licensed contractors must purchase and maintain general liability and worker’s compensation insurance.

Step 10: Submit your application packet to the Contractors Licensing Board.

Verify you have all required application materials before submitting your application packet to the CLB.

  • signed affidavits
  • references
  • surety bond
  • Arkansas Business & Law Test passing score
  • worker’s compensation insurance
  • nonrefundable $100 filing fee

Mail all application materials to the following address.

Contractors Licensing Board
4100 Richards Road
North Little Rock, Arkansas 72117

How much does it cost to get an Arkansas contractor license?

You must pay a $100 nonrefundable filing fee and $84 exam fee payable to the Contractors Licensing Board.

Note: You might need to pay additional fees to be licensed as a contractor with individual municipalities.

Do I qualify for a waiver of licensing fee?

Pursuant to Act 725 of 2021, the Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board has implemented a waiver for the initial licensing fee for applicants who qualify for the Workforce Expansion Act of 2021.

You might quality for a waiver if any of the following applies.

  • You were approved for unemployment within the past 12 months.
  • Your income does not exceed 200% of the federal poverty income guidelines.
  • You receive assistance through Arkansas Medicaid, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, WIC, Lifeline Assistance Program, or the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Program.

Last Updated: August 28, 2023

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert