How to get a Florida Travel Agent License
This Florida travel agent/seller of travel licensing guide is for informational purposes only. SuretyBonds.com does not regulate or manage licensing for travel agents in Florida. Contact the Florida Department of Agricultural and Consumer Services for the state's the latest official travel agent/seller of travel license requirements.
The Florida Department of Agricultural and Consumer Services requires a seller of travel license for any individual or business that sells travel-related services. The state's official licensing information, statutes, and regulation explains the "seller of travel license" is required by "seller of travel law," however it's more commonly known as the travel agent license for those who work in the state's travel industry.
You'll need to complete the following steps before submitting your seller of travel/travel agent license application to the Florida Department of Agricultural and Consumer Services. Your seller of travel/travel agent license will be valid for 1 year from its registration date.
How do I get a travel agent license in Florida?
Step 1: Complete your seller of travel registration application form.
If you're a travel agent operating under a travel agency or business and require a general seller of travel license, you'll complete a Sellers of Travel Registration Application (FDACS-10200). If you're an independent travel agent, you'll complete a Sellers of Travel Independent Sales Agents Application (FDACS-10211).
You might qualify for a registration exemption if you're contracted with the Airlines Reporting Commission (ARC) for 3 years or more under the same ownership and control. However, you must provide a statement of exemption issued by the FDAC to become licensed. If you offer vacation certificates, you must have been contracted with the ARC for 5 years or more under the same ownership.
Step 2: Provide additional required paperwork.
If you or your travel agency offer vacation certificates, you'll need to complete the following.
- All 16 documents listed under the 2022 Florida statutes chapter 559.9295. If these documents change at any point, you'll need to resubmit them for approval.
- A copy of the vacation certificate disclosure contract listed in compliance under the 2022 Florida statutes chapter 559.932.
- Pay an additional $100 fee.
Student Tour Operators fall under a separate seller of travel designation for those that offer tour-related services to or within an educational community. If you or your travel agency offer these services, you must complete the following additional requirements.
- Student tour operator registration form
- Proof of travel agent registration
- General liability insurance coverage of at least $1,000,000
- Professional liability insurance coverage of at least $1,000,000
- Workers compensation coverage of at least $500,00 and proof of exemption for fewer than 4 employees
- Maintain a current level 2 security clearance
Step 3: Determine your required surety bond amount.
The Florida Department of Agricultural and Consumer Services requires a seller of travel surety bond be filed as part of the licensing process. Your bond amount is determined based on whether you provide vacation certificates and your annual gross sales.
- A $10,000 seller of travel bond is required if you're a new business, have new ownership, or have the same ownership for at least a year with less than $500,000 in gross sales.
- A $15,000 seller of travel bond is required if you DO NOT issue vacation certificates and/or have the same ownership for at least a year with gross sales between $500,000 and $1,000,000.
- A $20,000 seller of travel bond is required if you DO NOT issue vacation certificates and/or have the same ownership for at least a year with gross sales between $1,000,000 and $2,000,000.
- A $25,000 seller of travel bond is required if you DO NOT issue vacation certificates and do not qualify for a lower bond amount.
- A $50,000 seller of travel bond is required if you offer vacation certificates.
Step 4: Purchase your Florida seller of travel surety bond.
Once you've determined your bond amount, you can apply for your Florida seller of travel bond online 24/7. These bonds require a quick application review to determine pricing.
- $10,000 seller of travel bond costs start at $100 annually.
- $15,000 seller of travel bond costs start at $150 annually.
- $20,000 seller of travel bond costs start at $200 annually.
- $25,000 seller of travel bond costs start at $250 annually.
- $50,000 seller of travel bond costs start at $500 annually.
You must sign your bond as principal in the presence of a witness for FDACS filing approval.
Step 5: Submit your paperwork and pay required fees.
Once you've completed your application packet and have purchased your official Florida seller of travel bond, you can apply for your travel agent license by mailing your travel agent application, fees, and required supporting documents.
Florida Department of Agricultural and Consumer Services
Plaza Level 10, The Capitol
400 S. Monroe St.
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0800
The FDACS will notify you within 30 days of receiving your registration if your application contains any deficiencies.
You must pay the following nonrefundable travel agent licensing fees when applicable.
|Fee Type||Fee Amount|
|Vacation certificate document submission||$100|
|Independent sales agent filing||$50|
Last Updated: August 18, 2023