Insurance professionals working with a Louisiana Public Adjuster License

How to get a Louisiana Public Adjuster License

This Louisiana public adjuster license guide is for informational purposes only. does not regulate or manage licensing for public adjusters in Louisiana. Contact the Louisiana Department of Insurance for the state's latest official public adjuster license requirements.

Louisiana Revised Statutes Section 22:1704 defines public adjusters as "insurance adjusters who do not work for any insurance company. They work for the insured to assist in the investigation, appraisal, evaluation, and reporting of the claim. The insured hires them by signing a contract agreeing to pay them a fee." Louisiana Revised Statutes Section 22:1693 requires public adjusters to obtain a state license before representing an insurer in any capacity or directly or indirectly soliciting business.

Complete the following steps to apply for your Louisiana public adjuster license.

How to get a Louisiana Public Adjuster License

How do I get a public adjuster license in Louisiana?

Step 1: Submit your Louisiana public adjuster license application through NIPR.

When applying for a new Louisiana public adjuster license, you must submit your application online through the National Insurance Producer Registry. You can apply as an individual or a business entity. To begin the application process, you must provide either a license number, national producer number, or social security number.

Step 2: Complete your prelicensing education.

It is optional, but recommended, that candidates complete prelicensing education before taking their Louisiana public adjuster exam. The Louisiana Department of Insurance provides a list of prelicensing schools you can choose from to help you prepare for your exam.

Step 3: Pass your Louisiana Public Adjuster Series 301 licensing exam.

You must take and pass the Louisiana Public Adjuster Series 301 exam administered by PSI. You can take your exam in-person at a PSI test center or at a remote location of your choosing as long as you can meet the remote technology requirements. If you choose remote proctoring for your exam, you'll still need to visit a PSI test center to be fingerprinted.

You must pay a $15 nonrefundable fee when signing up for your exam. The exam consists of 100 questions and has a 120 minute time limit. You must score at least 70% to pass. You can retake your exam as many times as you would like.

For additional Louisiana Public Adjuster Series 301 licensing exam information and a step-by-step guide on how to register, review the PSI Licensing Examinations Candidate Information Bulletin.

Step 4: Submit your fingerprints for a criminal background check.

All new individual resident producers must be fingerprinted and have a criminal background check performed by the Louisiana Department of Insurance. Your electronic fingerprints must be taken at a Louisiana PSI site. The fingerprinting fee is $39.25 and must be paid by VISA, MasterCard, company check, money order, or cashier's check. You can find a list of Louisiana Department of Insurance test locations, walk-in hours, and fingerprinting fees on the PSI website.

You may be fingerprinted at your testing site after you complete your exam. If you take your exam remotely, you must visit a PSI testing location during their walk-in hours to be fingerprinted. You may take your exam at a location in any state, but your fingerprints must be submitted at a location within Louisiana.

You don't have to complete the fingerprinting process if any of the following applies to you.

  • You're a nonresident of Louisiana.
  • You already have an active Louisiana public adjuster license as a resident and are adding a new license type or line of authority.
  • You're reinstating your Louisiana public adjuster license within 2 years of the date it was issued.

The DOI will review your fingerprint results with 7 to 10 days. All criminal history information received by this process is confidential.

Step 5: Purchase your Louisiana public adjuster surety bond.

The Louisiana Department of Insurance requires applicants to purchase a $50,000 surety bond to be filed with their license application. Your Louisiana public adjuster surety bond ensures you comply with Louisiana Revised Statutes Title 22 and Title 23 while working as a public adjuster in the state.

You can buy your Louisiana public adjuster bond online 24/7 for $500 annually. You'll receive your official Louisiana public adjuster surety bond form instantly by email once your payment has been processed.

Who do I contact for questions about my Louisiana public adjuster license?

You can contact the Louisiana Department of Insurance by calling 1(225)342-0860 or emailing [email protected]. Paperwork can be mailed to the following address.

Louisiana Department of Insurance
P.O. Box 94214
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9214

Last Updated: October 19, 2023

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert