Closed Monday 5/27 for Memorial Day

Vehicle salesperson holding clip board for a Texas bonded title

How to get a Texas Bonded Title

This Texas bonded title guide is for informational purposes only. SuretyBonds.com does not regulate or manage bonded titles in Texas. Contact the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles for the state's the latest official vehicle bonded title requirements.

The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles requires a bonded title for individuals who cannot provide proof of ownership documents for their vehicle as required by Texas Texas Administrative Code. The Texas bonded title establishes ownership of a vehicle when documents are lost, missing, or incomplete. In these situations, vehicle owners must purchase and file a surety bond that provides financial protection in the event the original title is found. 

How to get a Texas Bonded Title

How do I get a bonded title in Texas?

Step 1: Determine the eligibility of your vehicle.

Before starting your application, verify you as the vehicle owner and your vehicle meet Texas Department of Motor Vehicles bonded title requirements. As the vehicle owner, you must be a resident of Texas or a military personnel stationed in Texas. Your vehicle is not eligible for a title if it's considered junked or inoperable, but it does not have to be considered operational.

Step 2: Have your vehicle inspected (if out of state).

If you're a Texas resident but your vehicle was purchased out of state, you'll need to have your vehicle inspected at a Texas certified safety inspection station and receive a Vehicle Inspection Report to verify the vehicle identification number. 

If your vehicle has never been titled or registered in Texas, you'll need to provide a Law Enforcement Identification Number Inspection form, also known as a VTR-68-A form. This form can only be given to you by an auto theft investigator officer, who will be conducting a vehicle identification number inspection on your vehicle. You can contact your local law enforcement authorities to determine when and where these inspections are done, as the Texas DMV does not provide them. 

Step 3: Complete and submit the required documents to the DMV.

You'll complete and submit several materials to your local Texas DMV along with your $15.00 administration fee that can be paid for with cash, check, or money order payment. After they're submitted, wait for approval from the DMV to move on to the next step.

Step 3: Determine your bond amount. 

Once you've received approval, the DMV will issue you a Notice of Determination for a Bonded Title or Tax Assessor-Collector Hearing (form VTR-130-ND) that lists your required bond amount, which will be equal to 1 ½ times your vehicle value. If your vehicle is 25 years old or older and has an appraisal value under $4,000, your surety bond amount will be set at $4,000. 

Step 4: Purchase your surety bond. 

Once you know your bond amount, you'll use your Notice of Determination for Bonded Title or Tax Assessor-Collector Hearing form to buy your Texas certificate of title bond online 24/7. Texas certificate of title bond costs start at $100 and are delivered in minutes by email. You have 1 year from the date the DMV issued your notice to purchase your surety bond before a new notice form and bond is needed. You must physically sign your bond before filing it with your local DMV.

Step 5: Submit your bonded title application. 

Now that you've purchased your surety bond, you can officially apply for you vehicle's bonded title!

You'll provide your Application for a Texas Title and/or Registration form, your official Texas certificate of title bond, and all other application materials listed in step 3. If you have a commercial vehicle or truck, you'll also need to provide a weight certificate. Imported vehicles must have documents that indicate the vehicle was properly imported and is compliant or exempt from federal safety regulations. 

You can submit your application to your local DMV in person or by mail. 

You have 30 days within the issuance of your surety bond to submit all your bonded title application materials to your local county tag office. If it is not submitted within the allotted time, your county tax office will not accept your application or surety bond. Since the Texas bonded title works the same as the original title, you now have proof of ownership for your vehicle. A bonded title is effective for 3 years, and at the end of that time will replace the vehicle's original title. 

Last Updated: August 11, 2023

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert