$7,500 Notary Bond
Purchase your bond instantly online when you choose one of the 4 options below. Protect yourself from potential financial loss by including errors and omissions coverage with your bond.
without Errors & Omissions
with $10,000 Errors & Omissions
with $15,000 Errors & Omissions
with $20,000 Errors & Omissions
Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much does a $7,500 notary bond cost in Arkansas?
Arkansas notary bonds are issued for 10-year terms and cost as little as $50. Packages that include errors and omissions coverage are also available. Including errors and omissions insurance with your bond ensures you are not held personally liable for mistakes made while notarizing documents. Visit our blog for more information on this essential coverage.
Simply click Buy Now to visit our secure bond checkout to purchase your bond online today. It only takes a few minutes to be on your way to being bonded as a notary in Arkansas.
Why do I need this bond?
Arkansas notaries must provide the Secretary of State with a $7,500 surety bond before they are commissioned.
Arkansas notary bonds ensure that notaries comply with Act 304 of 1989 and all other Arkansas laws. For a signature to be officially notarized, the following criteria must be met:
- Present at the signing
- Personally knowing the signer
- Having proof to identify the signer
- Recognizing a signature by virtue of familiarity
If a notary public fails to comply with any of the terms of the act or the surety bond contract, a claim can be filed against the bond. If the claim is validated, the surety underwriting company will cover all financial losses suffered by the state and general public up to the full bond amount. The notary must then reimburse the surety for all damages paid out.
What’s the fine print?
Arkansas notary public bonds have 10-year terms. Bonds can be renewed by filing an application with the Secretary of State’s Business and Commercial Services Office.
This bond may be canceled by the surety at any time, but a written cancellation notice must be mailed to the Insurance Commissioner 60 days prior to the proposed termination date.
How to become a notary in Arkansas
The Arkansas Secretary of State requires a completed application, a $20 application fee, and a $7,500 surety bond to become a licensed notary public. Applicants for notary public license renewal must include their commission number on the application.
To be eligible to be a notary public, applicants must adhere to the following requirements:
- Be a minimum of 18 years of age
- Be a citizen or a permanent resident of the United States
- Be a legal resident of Arkansas or a legal resident of an adjoining state and employed in Arkansas
- Have the ability to read and write English
- Have not had a notary commission revoked in the past 10 years
- Have not had any felony convictions
- Have reviewed the laws concerning notaries public and understand the duties of a notary public
Remote notarization and eNotaries in Arkansas
- Obtaining an eNotary commission means a notary has the ability to notarize a document in an electronic format.
- Remote notarizations take place through a web portal that has been set up by your approved solution provider. Any document to be electronically notarized will need to be provided in a digital format, such as a PDF.
- How to become an Arkansas notary
Step #1: Complete the Online Application for Electronic Notary Commission, which requires a $20 application fee paid electronically.
Step #2: Complete the eNotary training and exam, with a $30 registration fee. You can register here.
Step #3: Once the exam has been passed, register with an approved solution provider of your choice.