Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much does a California defective title bond cost?
California defective title bond costs start at $100. The exact cost will vary depending on the surety bond amount required by the California Department of Motor Vehicles.
- Bond amounts up to $6,000 cost just $100.
- Bond amounts from $6,001 to $25,000 cost $10 for every $1,000 of coverage, starting at $100.
- Bond amounts from $25,001 to $50,000 cost $15 for every $1,000 of coverage, starting at $375.
- Bond amounts for more than $50,000 must be reviewed by an underwriter for pricing, starting at $500.
How do you obtain a California defective title bond?
You can purchase California defective title bonds online 24/7. You must provide the following information for DMV approval.
- vehicle identification number (VIN)
- vehicle year, make, model, and body type
Once your payment has been processed, your surety bond documentation will be issued. You'll receive a digital copy of your surety bond by email, and your physical documentation will be delivered based on your preferred shipping method.
How fast can I get a title bond in California?
Our industry-leading technology and responsive customer service team allow us to deliver official California certificate of title bonds faster than any other surety provider. If you're in a rush and need your title bond as soon as possible, choose overnight shipping when submitting your order.
What is the purpose of the California lost title bond?
California Vehicle Code Sections 4157 and/or 4307 requires a defective title bond for the current legal owner of a vehicle when they are unable to provide evidence of vehicle ownership. Bonded titles give the owner the same ownership rights as a regular title.
Vehicle owners are required to get a bond to protect the state from any financial losses that might occur as a result of the issuance of a new certificate of motor vehicle ownership. In the event a claim is made against the bond, the surety will cover any losses up to the full amount of the bond, and the principal must reimburse the surety for all money paid.
Motor vehicle ownership bonds in California can be canceled by the surety by providing the DMV with written notice of cancellation or withdrawal at least 30 days prior to the effective date.
Please note this bond only allows a vehicle title to be issued. If you plan on selling vehicles, a California auto dealer license bond is required.
Who regulates vehicle title registration in California?
The California Department of Motor Vehicles enforces vehicle title registration requirements for vehicles with lost, stolen, or missing titles.
Who needs a California title bond?
A California defective title bond is required for vehicle owners who don't have sufficient proof of vehicle ownership.
How long does a bonded title last in California?
Defective title bonds are issued for 3-year terms. After 3 years, the vehicle owner no longer needs a bond and can get a regular vehicle title.
How is the bond amount determined?
The required bond amount is equal to the fair market value of the vehicle as determined by a licensed motor vehicle dealer or insurance representative OR the average valuation from a recognized industry source, such as Kelley Blue Book.
If you need help determining your surety bond amount, contact your local DMV office.
How do I update or change my defective title surety bond form?
If the California DMV requires your surety bond documentation to be updated for any reason, contact your surety provider. If you purchased your bond from SuretyBonds.com, email [email protected] to explain the needed change.
The most common changes for these bonds include:
- the bond amount
- vehicle information such as the year, make, model, body type, or VIN
How do I renew my title bond in California?
A California defective title bond does not renew. Vehicle owners no longer need a title bond after 3 years. At this time, the vehicle owner is eligible for a regular car title.
Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert today.