1 (800) 308-4358
Mon-Fri 7am-7pm CST
  1. 1. Choose A State
  2. 2. Choose A Bond
  3. 3. Enter Your Contact Info
  4. 4. Receive Your Free Quote

California Finance Lender or Broker Bond

How much does a finance loan broker bond cost in California?

The California Department of Business Oversight requires finance lenders and brokers to post $25,000 surety bonds prior to conducting business.

These bonds are subject to underwriting consideration, so a review of your personal credit report determines the exact price you’ll pay. Qualified applicants could pay as low as $250. Request your free bond quote now!

Bond Type Bond Amount Cost by Credit Score*
680 and up 679 - 600 599 or lower
Bond of Finance Lender and/or Broker $25,000 Starts at $250 $1,000-2,000 $2,500+ Apply Now
*The bond premium rate quotes provided to you through this website are for pricing comparisons and quotation estimate purposes only. The bond rate quotes provided are based on general assumptions that may or may not be applicable to you and are subject to change at any time. These rate quotes do not constitute an offer of insurance, nor is any contract, agreement, or bond coverage implied, formed or bound by the provision of rate quotes. Bondability, final bond premium rate quotes and an offer of insurance, if any, will be determined by the insurance company providing your bond. You must contact us directly to obtain a quote for binding purposes.

We can provide your free bond quote within 1 business day of submitting your application. Call 1 (800) 308-4358 or click here to get started!

Why do I need this bond?

By posting a California finance lender or broker bond, principals (finance lenders/brokers) and their agents and employees pledge to conduct business according to the provisions of the California Finance Lenders Law and all rules and regulations made by the Commissioner of Business Oversight. Specifically, these bonds ensure that principals faithfully apply all funds received while on the job.

These bonds protect any person who sustains injury or financial loss as a result of the principal’s unlawful business practices. The principal must reimburse the surety for all damages paid out.

Purchasing the California surety bond you need is fast and easy when you work with the experts at SuretyBonds.com. Apply now!

What’s the fine print?

Finance lender or broker surety bonds in California can be canceled by the surety according to the provisions of Sections 996.320 and 996.330 of the California Code of Civil Procedure. The effective date of the bond must be indicated on the surety bond form.

All of the signatures required on the bond form must be acknowledged by a notary public.

How to become a finance lender or broker in California

Finance lenders and brokers must obtain a finance lenders license before conducting business in California. The licensing requirements depend on whether the company performs residential lending or brokering services. If the company acts as a broker for residential loans, applicants must do the following:

  • obtain a surety bond
  • provide proof of no criminal history of dishonesty, fraud or deceit
  • have a plan of business consistent with the business of financial lender
  • pay the $100 investigation fee and $200 application fee
  • have an application approved through the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System
  • and more

For companies that are not involved in residential loan services, applicants must do the following:

  • obtain a surety bond
  • provide proof no criminal history of dishonesty, fraud or deceit
  • have a plan of business consistent with the business of financial lender
  • pay the $100 investigation fee and $200 application fee
  • submit an application from the California Department of Business Oversight to its Los Angeles location
  • and more

Even after the license application is approved and issued, the licensee must meet several additional requirements. Each licensee must file an annual report by March 15 of each year. The Department of Business Oversight determines on or before September 30 of each year how much the licensee owes for license renewal. The minimum renewal fee is $250 per licensed location, and it must be paid by October 31.

More licensing information can be accessed from the Important Links section of this page.

Take the first step toward getting licensed in California by purchasing your surety bond!

Ready to get started?

Get a FREE Finance Lender or Broker Bond Quote Today!

Department of Business Oversight of the State of California Bond of Finance Lender and/or Broker form

California Department of Business Oversight California Finance Lenders Law

California Department of Business Oversight Frequently Asked Questions - California Finance Lenders License

California Department of Business Oversight Requirements After a Finance Lenders License has Been Issued

Free Shipping
30,000 Satisfied
Customers Nationwide
No Hidden Fees