Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much does a surplus line broker bond cost in California?
The California Producer Licensing Bureau requires surplus lines brokers to post $50,000 surety bonds. Special lines surplus lines brokers must post $10,000 bonds.
SuretyBonds.com issues $50,000 surplus line broker bonds instantly for $500, and bonds for special lines brokers can be issued for just $100. Simply click Buy Now to select and purchase your bond via our secure bond checkout. In just a few minutes you can be on your way to getting bonded as a surplus lines broker or special surplus lines broker in California.
Why do I need this bond?
California surplus line broker bonds ensure that principals (brokers) faithfully comply with the requirements of Chapter 6, Part 2, Division 1 of the Insurance Code of California and all other application provisions.
Special lines surplus lines broker bonds in California ensure that principals hold a special lines’ surplus line broker’s license issued by the Insurance Commissioner of the State of California and account for and handle all monies paid to him/her for insurance services appropriately.
If the principal fails to comply with these terms, both bonds protect harmed parties from financial loss up to the full amount of the bond.
What’s the fine print?
Bonds for surplus line brokers and special lines brokers in California remain in full force and effect until the surety cancels the bond or the surety is released from further liability by the commissioner. The surety can cancel the bond by giving written notice of cancellation to the commissioner 30 days prior to the effective termination date.
How to become a surplus line broker in California
Surplus line brokers in California must obtain a license before they can begin work. The process to apply for a surplus line broker license is as follows:
- Complete the pre-licensing education requirements (24 hours)
- Pass the Property and Casualty Broker-Agent exams prior to submitting license application
- Submit your online license application through FLASH (Fast Licensing Application Service is Here)
- Pay the $154 application fee
- Provide live scan fingerprint impressions
To renew your license, you must fulfill the continuing education requirements (24 hours) for each two-year license period.