1 (800) 308-4358
Mon-Fri 7am-7pm CST
Closing 4:00pm CST Dec 2
  1. 1. Choose A State
  2. 2. Choose A Bond
  3. 3. Enter Your Info
  4. 4. Purchase Your Bond

California Tax Preparer Bond

How much does a tax preparer surety bond cost in California?

Tax preparers in California must post $5,000 surety bonds.

SuretyBonds.com offers these bonds for 3 years of coverage for $50 or 5 years of coverage for $80—meaning that a 5-year bond is just $16 a year! There’s no credit check required, so everyone qualifies instantly. You can also buy this bond online now and have a copy in your email as soon as today.

Simply select the term you’d like for your California tax preparer bond and click “Buy Now” to visit our secure payment portal to complete your purchase. Be on your way to being bonded in just a few minutes!

Because these bonds can be written on longer terms than most, it is important to ensure that you are not currently bonded before contacting SuretyBonds.com, as first-term bonds are non-cancelable, non-refundable legal documents.

Bond Type Bond Amount Cost
$5,000 Tax Preparer Bond 5-year term $5,000 $80
$5,000 Tax Preparer Bond 3-year term $5,000 $50

Why do I need this bond?

By posting a California tax preparer surety bond, principals (tax preparers) pledge to conduct business in compliance with the provisions of Division 8, Chapter 14 of the Business and Professions Code. Specifically, these bonds protect any person from a principal’s misstatements, misrepresentations, dishonesty, fraud, deceit or any other unlawful acts or omissions.

The principal must reimburse the surety for all damages paid out.

What’s the fine print?

Tax preparer bonds in California remain valid for either 3 years or 5 years from the effective date, depending on which term you purchased. The surety can cancel the bond by giving written notice of cancellation to the principal at least 30 days prior to the effective cancellation date.

How to become a tax preparer in California

To legally practice tax preparation services in California, applicants must first register with the state. To be eligible for registration, applicants must:

  • take a 60-hour qualifying education course from an approved provider
  • post a surety bond of $5,000
  • obtain a Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN) from the Internal Revenue Service
  • submit an application to the California Tax Education Council (CTEC)
  • and more

State of California California Tax Education Council (CTEC) Registered Tax Preparer

CTEC Bonding Requirements

Business and Professions Code Section 22250-22259

Overnight Shipping
50,000 Satisfied
Customers Nationwide
No Hidden Fees