California Vehicle Verifier Bond
Purchase your bond instantly online when you choose one of the 3 term options below. Save time and money by extending your bond term. Choosing a longer term now means you pay 25% less for your bond each year and forego the annual renewal process.
1 year term
2 year term - save $25.00!
3 year term - save $50.00!
Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much does a $5,000 vehicle verifier bond cost in California?
California vehicle verifier bonds cost $100 and are issued instantly online for a one-year term. Simply click Buy Now below to purchase your bond using our secure bond checkout. It only takes a few minutes to get bonded as a California Vehicle Verifier.
Why do I need a vehicle verifier bond?
The California Department of Motor Vehicles requires vehicle verifiers to post $5,000 surety bonds to legally operate in California.
California vehicle verifier bonds are put in place to ensure that principals (verifiers) conduct all business according to law and, as a result, do not cause any loss to the state or to any person. If the principal fails to comply with the terms of the surety bond agreement and the letter of the law, the bond protects the state and any person from financial loss up to the full bond amount ($5,000). The principal must reimburse the surety for all damages paid out.
What’s the fine print on a California vehicle verifier bond?
Vehicle verifier bonds in California remain continuous until canceled and run concurrently with the license period for which the license is granted. The surety can cancel the bond according to the provisions of Article 13, Chapter 2, Title 14, Part 2 of the Code of Civil Procedure.
How to become a vehicle verifier in California
To become a licensed vehicle verifier in California, applicants must submit a completed application, including the following forms:
- OL 19 - Application for a Vehicle Verifier’s Permit
- OL 26 - Surety Bond of Vehicle Verifier ($5,000)
- OL 29 - Application for Occupational License Personal History Questionnaire, Part B
- DMV 8016 - Request for Live Scan Clearance
The following fees must also be paid as part of the licensing process:
- $50 non-refundable application fee
- $1 Family Support Program fee
- $50 reinstatement fee
- $15 duplicate license fee
The completed application and materials can be mailed to:
Department of Motor Vehicles
PO Box 932342 L224
Sacramento, CA 94232-3420
How to renew a California vehicle verifier license
After two years, California vehicle verifier license expire and require renewal. In order to renew a California vehicle verifier license, license holders must submit an application again, pay a $15 renewal fee, and the $1 Family Support Program fee. Depending on the term length of your California vehicle verifier surety bond, the bond may need to be renewed. The surety will contact you between 90 and 30 days before the date your bond expires in order to renew.
Ready to get started?
Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert today.