1 (800) 308-4358

Mon-Fri 7am-7pm CST

Choose Bond
Enter Info
Receive Quote
generic bond icon

Delaware Private Investigative and Security Agency Bond

Select Bond For Price
Want your bond emailed to you Wednesday, Aug. 17? Buy your bond within 17 hrs 53 min

SECURE

Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.

BEST PRICES

We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.

FAST

We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does a Delaware private investigative or security agency bond cost?

The Delaware State Police’s Board of Examiners of Private Investigators and Private Security Agencies requires surety bonds from all applicants wishing to become licensed as a private investigator or security agency. The amount of the bonds is as follows:

  • $5,000 bond for sole proprietors with no employees
  • $10,000 bond for businesses employing others
  • $15,000 bond for out-of-state licensees

The cost of a private investigative or security agency bond is determined by the amount of the bond and ranges from $50 to $150, respectively. Multi-year discounts, offering a 25% discount for each additional year purchased, are available. Simply click Buy Now to purchase your bond safely and securely through our online bond checkout. In just a few minutes, you can be on your way to becoming bonded as a Delaware private investigative or security agency.

Bond Type
$5,000Private Investigative and Security Agency BondSole Proprietor Without Employees
$10,000Private Investigative and Security Agency BondBusiness With Employees
$15,000Private Investigative and Security Agency BondOut-of-State

Why do I need a Delaware private investigator and security agency bond?

The Delaware Code § 1327 requires that anyone applying for a license to own or operate a private investigative or security agency must have both a surety bond and a certificate of insurance in an amount determined by the Board.

In the event that the agency causes harm to anyone due to its failure to abide by all rules and regulations set forth in the Delaware Code, a claim may be made against the bond. If the claim is found to be valid, the surety may pay up to the full amount of the bond to settle the claim. In the event that the surety does pay out, it is the licensee’s responsibility to repay the surety.

How to become licensed as a Delaware private investigative or security agency

The Board requires Delaware private investigative agency applicants to meet the following steps to be eligible for licensure:

  1. Meet the general requirements for an applicant:
    Be at least be 21 years of age
    Carries no felony convictions
    Has no misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude or theft
    Has no convictions for drug offenses
    Must meet and maintain all additional qualifications established by the Board
    If a firearm is possessed, the applicant must have the proper training and permits
  2. Obtain proper training:
    Applicants must have a minimum of five years of investigative experience or must have been a police officer for a local, state, or federal agency or equivalent and graduated from a certified law enforcement academy.
    The owner of a firearm must train with an instructor approved by the Delaware State Police.
    It is not required, but recommended, that applicants have a degree in criminal justice or legal studies.
  3. Turn in the application and pay the proper fees:
    A Delaware private investigator will need to turn in the application, along with the Delaware Professional Licensing-assigned processing fee and documented photographs and fingerprints. The surety bond form should be included. Once the application goes through, an ID will be presented, along with an additional fee.
    Delaware private investigative agencies will be required to turn in an application. The form will be dependent on the agency’s type. Class A forms are for Delaware private investigative agencies and Class C forms are for Delaware private investigative and private security agencies. Along with the agency application, a Delaware manager/license holder application must be submitted with the proper delegated fee.

Delaware security guard agency applicants must follow these steps to become eligible for licensure:

  1. Meet the general requirements for an applicant:
    Be at least be 25 years of age
    Have a minimum of four years experience managing licensed security agency or five years investigative experience or have been police officer for a local, state, or federal agency or equivalent who has graduated from a certified law enforcement academy
    Carries no felony convictions
    Has no misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude or theft
    Has no convictions for drug offenses
    Must meet and maintain all additional qualifications established by the Board
  2. Applicants must enroll in a 16-hour Delaware State Police approved security course with a final examination that requires a grade of 75% minimum.
  3. Applicants with firearms must follow a 40-hour Delaware State Police-approved course.
  4. An application, along with documented fingerprints paid fees, must be submitted. The surety bond form should be included.

The Board requires all applicants to be subjected to a background check and pay their designated fee. All identification must be possessed by the user at all times in the event that he or she is required for public inspection.

For different types of licenses/applicants, the Board dictates that there is a required fee with an assigned expiration date. These fees range from $5 to $140 and could be valid for one time or up to five years. The Board can also change the price and expiration date without notifying the license holder.

Considerations for Delaware private investigator and security agency bonds

Private investigative and security agency bonds are issued for one-year terms and must be renewed annually via a continuation certificate for as long as the agency wishes to remain licensed. However, the surety may cancel the bond at any time by providing the Board with 30 days’ written notice.

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert