Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much does the Georgia distilled spirits bond cost?
The Georgia distilled spirits bond costs $100 annually for wholesalers and $120 annually for manufacturers. State law requires these bonds expire annually on December 31st, so your exact distilled spirit bond premium depends on when you purchase your Georgia surety bond.
How do I get a distilled spirits bond in Georgia?
You can buy your distilled spirits wholesaler or manufacturer bond online 24/7. Simply select your license bond type and provide the following information for Department of Revenue approval.
- name of distillery as shown on application
- state tax ID number
Once your payment has been processed, your official bond will be delivered to your email instantly.
How fast can I get a distilled spirit wholesaler or manufacturer bond?
SuretyBonds.com offers instant Georgia distilled spirits bond delivery 24/7. Buy now to receive your official distilled spirit bond in minutes by email.
What is a Georgia distilled spirit wholesaler or manufacturer bond?
Georgia Alcoholic Beverage Code Section 3-4-22 requires individuals file a $5,000 surety bond before being licensed as a distilled spirits wholesaler. The required $5,000 form is officially titled the “Distilled Spirits Bond Performance and Tax Liability Bond” but is more commonly known as the “alcoholic beverage wholesaler bond” or “liquor wholesaler bond.”
Similarly, Georgia Alcoholic Beverage Code Section 3-4-22 requires individuals file a $10,000 surety bond before being licensed as a distilled spirits manufacturer. The required $10,000 form is officially titled the “Liquor Manufacturer Distillery Tax Bond Form” but is more commonly known as the “alcoholic beverage manufacturer bond” or “liquor manufacturer bond.”
Why is the Georgia distilled spirit bond required?
By filing these bonds, distilleries, wholesalers, and manufacturers agree to comply with any Georgia state law, rule, and regulation and also pay all taxes, license fees, rental charges, penalties, and interest to the Georgia Department of Revenue. If a distillery, wholesaler, or manufacturer fails to do so, their issuing surety company will pay valid claims up to their full $5,000 or $10,000 bond amount, and they must reimburse the paid loss in full.
Who regulates distilled spirit wholesalers and manufacturers?
The Georgia Department of Revenue Alcohol and Tobacco Division enforces licensing for distilled spirit wholesalers and manufacturers, including the financial guarantee tax bond form requirement. You can contact the Alcohol and Tobacco Division by calling 1(877)423-6711 or emailing [email protected].
This bond is required to fulfill state law licensing requirements for distilleries. The Department of Revenue also enforces separate Georgia alcohol seller bond and Georgia liquor broker bond regulations for other alcohol permit types in the state.
How do I update or change my distilled spirits bond form?
If the Georgia Department of Revenue requires your bond form to be updated for any reason, contact your surety company. If you purchased your bond from SuretyBonds.com, email [email protected] to explain the needed change. The most common changes requested are the distillery wholesaler or manufacturer's name, county, or state tax ID number.
How do I renew my alcohol wholesaler or manufacturer bond?
You should renew your Georgia distilled spirits bond before its current term expires annually on December 31st. Once you pay your SuretyBonds.com renewal invoice, renewal instructions will be sent to you to keep your bond active during your next permit license term.
How do I get a distilled spirits license in Georgia?
Complete the steps below to apply for your Georgia distilled spirits license.
- Fill out your online application on the Georgia Tax Center.
- Complete all required information and documentation.
- Pass a criminal background check.
- Pay your required fees.
- Purchase and file a Georgia surety bond in the required bond amount.
Note: As of September 1, 2021, licensees must print their alcohol license from the Georgia Tax Center themselves.