How much does a private investigator bond cost in Georgia?
The Georgia Board of Private Detective and Security Agencies requires private detective and security agencies in the state to post $25,000 surety bonds as part of the licensing requirements.
SuretyBonds issues these bonds instantly for just $250 without a credit check. Simply click “Buy Now” to be directed to our secure online purchase portal where you can buy your bond directly from our site. In just a few minutes you can be on your way to being bonded as a private detective or security agency in Georgia.
|Bond Type||Bond Amount||Cost|
|$25,000 Private Detective and Security Agency Bond||$25,000||$250|
Why do I need this bond?
By posting a Georgia private detective and security agencies surety bond, principals (private investigator, detective and security agencies) pledge to comply with all laws governing the acts of private detective and security agencies established by the state of Georgia (Code Section 43-38). Specifically, the bond ensures that any person who suffers a loss, due to the principal’s unlawful business practices while on the job, shall receive compensation up to the full amount of the bond.
What’s the fine print?
Private detective and security agencies bonds in Georgia remain in full force and effect until canceled. To cancel the bond, the surety or the principal must provide written notice of cancellation via certified mail or statutory overnight delivery to the Board at least 30 days prior to the proposed cancellation date.
How to become a private detective or private security agency in Georgia
Private detective businesses and private security companies in Georgia must be licensed, and the employees of the company engaged in investigative activities and armed security guards must be registered. To become licensed, applicants must meet the following criteria:
- be at least 18 years old
- be a citizen of the United States or a registered resident alien
- have good moral character and demonstrate trustworthiness
- Have not previously committed acts constituting dishonesty or fraud
Applicants must provide fingerprints to the department and comply with all qualifications and requirements of the commissioner. Once the license certificate is obtained, it must be clearly visible at the licensee’s place of business at all times.
Ready to get started?