1 (800) 308-4358
Mon-Fri 7am-7pm CST
  1. 1. Choose A State
  2. 2. Choose A Bond
  3. 3. Enter Your Info
  4. 4. Recieve Your Quote

Hawaii Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond

How much will my Hawaii motor vehicle dealer bond cost?

The Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board of Hawaii requires all motor vehicle dealers to post a bond prior to engaging in business. Bond amounts are determined by the type of vehicles sold and the amount of vehicles sold.

This specific bonds type is subject to underwriting, meaning that cost is based on the applicant’s qualifications. Highly qualified applicants may be approved for as little as 1-3% of the total bond amount.

Bond Type Bond Amount Cost*
$10,000 Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond sells used motorcycles or scooters $10,000 Starts at $100 Apply Now
$25,000 Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond sells less than 60 used vehicles per month $25,000 Starts at $250 Apply Now
$50,000 Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond sells less than 10 new vehicles per month $50,000 Starts at $500 Apply Now
$100,000 Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond sells 60+ used vehicles per month $100,000 Starts at $1,000 Apply Now
$200,000 Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond sells 10+ new vehicles per month $200,000 Starts at $2,000 Apply Now
*The bond premium rate quotes provided to you through this website are for pricing comparisons and quotation estimate purposes only. The bond rate quotes provided are based on general assumptions that may or may not be applicable to you and are subject to change at any time. These rate quotes do not constitute an offer of insurance, nor is any contract, agreement, or bond coverage implied, formed or bound by the provision of rate quotes. Bondability, final bond premium rate quotes and an offer of insurance, if any, will be determined by the insurance company providing your bond. You must contact us directly to obtain a quote for binding purposes.

Why do I need this bond?

HI motor dealer bonds exist to protect customers from fraud in connection with the purchasing, negotiating and selling of motor vehicles. By posting a bond, motor vehicle dealers agree to abide by all rules and provisions of Chapter 437 of the Hawaii Revised Statutes.

What’s the fine print?

Bonds may be canceled by the surety if a cancellation notice is submitted in writing to the State of Hawaii and the principal 30 days prior to the given cancellation date.

How to become a motor vehicle dealer in Hawaii

Dealers must be licensed prior to conducting business. Applications must be accompanied by the following documents:

  • self-inspection report
  • photographs of your buildings display
  • rental or lease agreement
  • surety bond
  • financial statement
  • appropriate fees

All licenses are subject to a biennial renewal. Licenses must be renewed by June 30 of even-numbered years.

Additional Resources

Department of Commerce and Consumer Affair Professional & Vocational Licensing

Chapter 437 Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Act

Overnight Shipping
50,000 Satisfied
Customers Nationwide
No Hidden Fees