How much does a plumber’s bond cost in Iowa?
The Iowa Plumbing and Mechanical Systems Board requires professionals who provide plumbing or mechanical services in Iowa to post $5,000 surety bonds.
SuretyBonds.com issues these bonds instantly for just $100. Simply click Buy Now to purchase your bond online using our secure bond checkout. In just a few minutes you can be on your way to getting bonded as a plumbing and mechanical contractor in Iowa.
|Bond Type||Bond Amount||Cost|
|$5,000 Plumbing and Mechanical Systems Bond 1-year term||$5,000||$100|
Why do I need this bond?
Plumbing and mechanical systems contractor bonds in Iowa ensure that principals (plumbing contractors) abide by the rules and regulations of the state and industry and faithfully perform the duties entrusted to them. If a contractor fails to adhere to these terms, a claim can be filed against the bond. The bond guarantees that the contractor will ultimately pay for any suits, costs, damages or expenses resulting from injuries or damages incurred by his or her actions while on the job.
What’s the fine print?
If the applicant operates the contractor business as a sole proprietorship, he or she must provide the board with evidence that the applicant personally obtained the surety bond. If the applicant operates the contractor business as an employee or owner of a legal entity, he or she must provide the board with evidence that the surety bond was obtained by the entity and that the surety bond covers all plumbing or mechanical work performed by the entity.
Iowa plumbing and mechanical service surety bonds remain in full force and effect unless otherwise canceled. If the bond is to be canceled, the surety must provide a cancellation notice to the Iowa Plumbing and Mechanical Systems Board in Des Moines, Iowa. The cancellation notice must be received at least 10 days prior to the termination date.
How to become a plumbing and mechanical contractor in Iowa
To become licensed as a contractor by the Iowa Plumbing and Mechanical Systems Board, applicants must adhere to the following requirements:
- Minimum 18 years of age
- Provide documentation of criminal convictions related to practice of profession along with full explanation
- File application and submit appropriate fees
- Provide Iowa Workforce Development Contractor Registration Number, if applicable
- Provide evidence of permanent place of business
Ready to get started?