How much does a notary public bond cost in Kentucky?
The Kentucky Secretary of State Notary Public Division requires that notaries public file surety bonds before being commissioned. The amount of coverage required varies by county, so applicants should verify the exact bond amount needed with their local county clerk prior to bonding.
SuretyBonds.com can issue a 4-year Kentucky notary bond instantly for just $50! There’s no credit check required, so everyone qualifies for this low, flat rate. Errors and Omissions Insurance is also available. Including errors and omissions insurance with your bond ensures you are NOT held personally liable for mistakes made while notarizing documents. Visit our blog for more information on this essential coverage.
Ready to get bonded instantly? Give us a call at 1 (800) 308-4358, or request your bond online now.
Why do I need this bond?
By posting a bond, the principal (notary public) agrees to perform all notarial duties according to laws enforced by the county and state. If a principal fails to do so, harmed parties such as the state or county government can file a claim against the bond as a way to recover damages. The principal is responsible for reimbursing the surety for any claims paid out.
For more information on notary bonds in Kentucky, contact a surety expert online.
What’s the fine print?
Kentucky notary bonds remain in effect for 4 years. If the terms of the bond agreement are violated, the bond may be voided. Otherwise, it will remain in full effect.
All Kentucky bonds are subject to a 1.8% state surcharge.
How to become a notary in Kentucky
Kentucky requires that all notary public applicants be at least 18 years old, have good moral character, and reside or work in the county. Applicants must mail a completed “Appointment to the Office of Notary Public” application form to the Secretary of State. Applications must be signed by the County Clerk, Circuit Clerk, Judge Executive, Justice of Peace or member of the General Assembly of the county in which the applicant is applying to act as a notary. Applications must be accompanied by:
- $10 state fee
- surety bond in the correct amount
- $19 recording fee
The notary’s license remains valid for 4 years.
More licensing information is available under the “Additional Resources” section of this page.
Ready to get started?