Massachusetts Auctioneer Bond
Purchase your bond instantly online when you choose one of the 3 term options below. Save time and money by extending your bond term. Choosing a longer term now means you pay 25% less for your bond each year and forego the annual renewal process.
1 year term
2 year term - save $25.00!
3 year term - save $50.00!
Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much do Massachusetts auctioneer bonds cost?
A $10,000 Massachusetts auctioneer bond costs $100 and is issued instantly. Simply click Buy Now to securely purchase your bond directly through our site. In just a few minutes, you can be on your way to getting bonded as an auctioneer in Massachusetts..
Why do I need an auctioneer bond in Massachusetts?
Massachusetts auctioneer bonds are required by the State of Massachusetts Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation’s Deputy Director of Standards in the amount of $10,000. Auctioneer bonds in Massachusetts exist to protect customers and the state from any illegal acts an auctioneer might commit. Specifically, this bond type ensures that auctioneers will pay any and all fines or penalties incurred through violations of the provisions of Chapter 100 of the Massachusetts General Laws or any amendments thereof.
Massachusetts auctioneer bonds are continuous until canceled. This means that a continuation certificate will be sent to the principal of the bond and must be filled out if that principal still needs the bond. These bonds may only be canceled if the obligee writes a notice to the principal. If the surety chooses to cancel this bond or if the auctioneer’s business license is terminated, notice must be given to the Acting Deputy Director of Standards 60 days prior to the termination date. See more on our renewal guide.
I would like to obtain a Massachusetts auctioneer license — where do I start?
Posting a Massachusetts auctioneer surety bond is only the first step toward becoming a licensed auctioneer. Multiple requirements must be met:
- You must be 18 years or older to become an auctioneer in Massachusetts.
- You must submit a legitimate diploma or certificate from a certified auctioneer school.
The school does not need to be located in Massachusetts; visit the state’s webpage for a list.
- You must submit a $10,000 surety bond.
- You must pay the $100 licensing fee.
Please note that money orders and checks are the only currently accepted forms of payment.
- You must submit two letters of recommendation signed by licensed auctioneers, members of the Massachusetts Bar, or elected officials.
- All of these materials must be submitted with the application, which you may mail or submit in person via walk-in service (available with same-day registration and all required documents and fees previously submitted) at:
Division of Standards
One Ashburton Place, Room 1115
Boston, MA 02108
Ready to get started with your Massachusetts auctioneer bond?
Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert today.