Massachusetts Private Detective and Watch Guard Bond
Purchase your bond instantly online when you choose one of the 3 term options below. Save time and money by extending your bond term. Choosing a longer term now means you pay 25% less for your bond each year and forego the annual renewal process.
Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much does a Massachusetts private detective or watch guard bond cost?
The Massachusetts private detective or watch guard bond costs $100 annually. You can save money by choosing our multi-year discount to extend your private detective or watch guard bond term during checkout!
How do I get a private detective or watch guard bond in Massachusetts?
You can purchase your Massachusetts private detective or watch guard bond online 24/7. Simply select your preferred term and provide your licensee name and county for Department of State Police filing approval. Once your payment has been received, a copy of your bond will be delivered to your email instantly. Your official Massachusetts State Police bond will be shipped to your preferred mailing address.
How fast can I get a private detective and watch guard bond?
Our industry-leading technology and responsive customer service team allow us to deliver your official Massachusetts private detective and watch guard bond faster than any other surety provider. The Massachusetts State Police requires your surety bond be physically issued and delivered to you, so choose overnight shipping when submitting your order if you're in a rush. Orders placed by 4 PM CST Monday-Friday are typically shipped same-day.
What is a private detective or watch guard bond?
Massachusetts General Law Chapter 147 Section 26 requires individuals file a $5,000 surety bond before they can get their private detective or watch guard license. This Massachusetts surety bond is also known as the “private investigator bond” or “security guard bond” and specifically requires private detective and watch, guard, or patrol agencies comply with state law when operating their businesses. If a licensee fails to do so, the issuing surety company will pay valid claims to harmed individuals up to the full $5,000 bond amount, which the private detective or security guard agency must reimburse.
What is the private detective or watch guard bond amount?
Massachusetts General Laws set the Massachusetts private detective and watch guard bond amount at $5,000.
Who regulates licensing for private detectives and watch guards?
The Massachusetts State Police Certification Unit enforces private detective, watch guard, and security guard agency licensing requirements. You can contact the Certification unit by calling 1(978)538-6128.
The Massachusetts State Police require this bond for state private investigator licensing. If you work as a private investigator or private detective in states other than Massachusetts, we also offer private investigator bonds nationwide.
How do I update or change my private detective and watch guard bond form?
If the Massachusetts State Police requires your bond form to be updated for any reason, contact your surety company. If you purchased your bond from SuretyBonds.com, email [email protected] to explain the needed change. The most common changes requested are updating your private investigator or patrol agency name or county to match your existing licensure or new license application.
How do I renew my Massachusetts private detective and watch guard bond?
You must renew your private detective business or security watch guard bond before its current term expires. Once you pay your SuretyBonds.com renewal invoice, instructions will be provided to keep your bond active for your next license term.
Do you need a security guard license in Massachusetts?
Yes, you must maintain an active private detective or watch, guard, and patrol license with the Massachusetts State Police to comply with licensing law outlined in Massachusetts General Laws.
How can you become a private investigator or security guard in Massachusetts?
Complete the steps below to apply as a private investigator or security guard in Massachusetts.
- Create an account on the Massachusetts State Police Certification Licensing system to fill out your application online.
- Purchase a $5,000 Massachusetts surety bond.
- Pay the $550 application fee.
- Provide 3 references who can verify your character.
- Meet the State Police's work experience requirements: either a detective for 3 years, an investigative service member, a police officer for 10 years, or a grade above a patrolman.