Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much will your Minnesota certificate of title bond cost?
Minnesota certificate of title bond costs start at $100 for the state-required 3-year term. The exact cost will vary depending on the surety bond amount required by the Division of Motor Vehicles.
- Bond amounts up to $6,000 cost $100.
- Bond amounts from $6,001 to $50,000 cost $15 for every $1,000 of coverage, starting at $100.
- Bond amounts more than $50,000 must be reviewed by an underwriter for pricing, starting at $750.
How do you get a Minnesota ownership title and security interest surety bond?
You can purchase your Minnesota title bond online 24/7. You must provide the following information for Division of Motor Vehicles filing approval.
- vehicle owner name
- vehicle identification number (VIN)
- body type
Once your payment has been processed, you'll receive a digital copy of your Minnesota vehicle title bond by email. Your official certificate of title bond will be delivered to your preferred mailing address.
How fast can I get a motor vehicle title bond?
Our industry-leading technology and responsive customer service team allow us to deliver your official Minnesota motor vehicle title bond faster than any other surety provider. The DMV requires your Minnesota title bond be physically issued and delivered to you, so choose overnight shipping when submitting your order if you're in a rush. Orders placed by 4 PM CST Monday-Friday are typically shipped same-day
What is a Minnesota certificate of title bond?
Minnesota Statute Section 168A.07 requires individuals file a surety bond if they cannot prove vehicle ownership when registering their vehicles. State form PS2052-04 is officially titled the "Ownership and Security Interest Surety Bond" but is more commonly known as a "certificate of title bond" or "defective title bond." These bonds protect prior owners and future purchasers from expenses, losses, or damages resulting from certificate of title issuance. If such a loss occurs, the issuing surety company will pay valid claims up to the full bond amount, which the bonded vehicle owner must then reimburse.
Who needs a Minnesota title bond?
If you cannot prove you own a vehicle you're trying to register, you'll need to file a Minnesota vehicle title bond along with your bonded title application. Vehicles must be 6 model years or older to qualify for a bonded title.
Motor vehicle title bonds are required for vehicle registration. If you plan to sell vehicles, you need a Minnesota motor vehicle dealer bond.
Who registers vehicles in Minnesota?
The Minnesota Department of Public Safety Division of Motor Vehicles enforces registration requirements for vehicles with missing titles. If you have questions about your bonded title or vehicle registration, call 1(651)297-2126 or email [email protected].
How do I determine my bond amount?
Your bond amount must be 1.5 times the vehicle value as determined by your local deputy registrar office. Do not purchase your bond until your local deputy registrar has calculated your exact required surety bond amount.
How do Minnesota bonded title applicants file your bond?
You must file your original surety bond and bonded title application with your local deputy registrar office within 30 days.
How do I update or change my certificate of title bond form?
If the Minnesota Department of Public Safety Division of Motor Vehicles requires your vehicle title bond documentation to be updated for any reason, contact your surety provider. If you purchased your bond from SuretyBonds.com, email [email protected] to explain the needed change.
The most common changes for these bonds include vehicle owner's name and vehicle information.
Does your Minnesota bonded title expire?
Yes, Minnesota bonded titles expire 3 years from their effective date and do not renew.
How do Minnesota residents apply for a bonded title?
Before applying for a bonded title, you must verify your vehicle qualifies by going to a deputy registrar office where you will complete the Affidavit of Due Diligence form. The deputy will calculate the bond amount for you. You'll then submit the following to apply for your bonded title.
- Application to Title and Register a Motor Vehicle (PS2000)
- bill of sale
- statement of facts regarding the vehicle's history
- statement of protection
- photos of all sides of the vehicle and VIN plate
- Minnesota surety bond in the correct required amount