generic bond icon

Minnesota Health Care Program Bond

Select Bond For Price


Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.


We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.


We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.

How much does my Minnesota PCA agency bond cost?

The Minnesota Department of Human Services requires health care programs that administer personal care assistance to patients in the state to post a surety bond. The required bond amount is $50,000 if the agency is enrolling or the total Medicaid payments for PCA services in the previous calendar year were less than or equal to $300,000. If the total Medicaid payments for PCA services in the previous calendar year were greater than $300,000, the bond amount is $100,000.

Because the required amount of the surety bond is so large, the cost of a PCA agency bond is subject to approval by an underwriter who will review the qualifications of all owners of the company prior to providing a quote. Highly qualified applicants are typically approved for just 1-3% of the total bond amount.

Bond Type
$50,000Minnesota Health Care Programs PCA Agency BondNewly-enrolled providers; Total Medicaid payments for PCA services in previous calendar less than $300,000
$100,000Minnesota Health Care Programs PCA Agency BondTotal Medicaid payments for PCA services in previous calendar year more than $300,000

Why do I need this bond?

PCA agency bonds in Minnesota ensure the principal (agency provider) adheres to Chapter 256B of the Minnesota Statutes. The law outlines regulations for personal care assistance (PCA) programs within the state. For a personal care assistant to provide health-related services to a patient on ventilator support, there must be:

  • training by a registered nurse or physician
  • clean rather than sterile procedure
  • specialized training about ventilator operation and maintenance
  • individualized training catered to the needs of the patient
  • supervision from a registered nurse

For the complete list of regulations concerning PCA programs, check out the “Additional Resources” section on this page. Section 256B.0659 of the Minnesota Statutes provides personal care assistance regulations. If the principal violates these laws, then a claim can be filed against the surety bond. If the claim is proven, the surety will cover all resulting financial losses up to the full bond amount, and the principal must reimburse the surety for all damages paid out.

What’s the fine print?

Personal care assistance (PCA) agencies in Minnesota are obligated to possess a surety bond by the Department of Human Services. These bonds are valid for one year from the date of issuance. When the original bond expires, the agency must renew the bond if it wishes to continue operations. The surety must notify the Department of Human services if it decides to cancel the bond for any reason.

How to become a health care program agency in Minnesota

New PCA agencies have to undergo an enrollment process before they can legally take care of patients in Minnesota. There are several steps for this enrollment process. The agency needs to submit the following documents before training:

  • PCA agency enrollment application
  • enter all agency personnel into the Office of Inspector General list
  • disclosure of ownership and control interest
  • qualified professional acknowledgement
  • background study
  • request for licensing agency ID number
  • direct deposit authorization for electronic funds transfer
  • MHCP provider agreement
  • PCA agency personnel list and affiliation
  • copy of certificate of registration

The following documents have to be submitted once required individuals attend training:

  • surety bond
  • certificate of liability insurance
  • fidelity bond of $20,000
  • Workers’ Compensation insurance
  • PCA agency applicant assurance statement
  • designation of PCA billing person

Minnesota Health Care Programs (MHCP) reviews PCA agencies once a year for continued enrollment. Agencies have 30 days to submit required documentation after MHCP notifies the agency of the annual review.

Ready to get started?

Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert