How much will a $10,000 notary bond cost in Missouri?
Missouri notary bonds are issued instantly for four-year terms and cost as little as $50.
Additional errors and omissions coverage is available and recommended. Including errors and omissions insurance with your bond ensures you are not held personally liable for mistakes made while notarizing documents. Visit our blog for more information on this essential coverage.
|Bond Type||Bond Amount||Cost|
|$10,000 Notary Bond $10,000 Errors & Omissions||$10,000||$50|
|$10,000 Notary Bond $20,000 Errors and Omissions||$10,000||$70|
|$10,000 Notary Bond $30,000 Errors and Omissions||$10,000||$90|
Why do I need this bond?
Notaries in Missouri must submit a $10,000 surety bond to the Secretary of State prior to being commissioned.
Missouri notary bonds protect the public and state from financial losses and other consequences resulting from a notary public’s wrongdoings. The bond ensures compensation for an individual harmed as a result of errors or mistakes committed by a notary while on the job. Common errors committed by notaries include the following:
- Notarizing a signature that the notary knows to be false or fraudulent
- Notarizing a family member’s document
- Notarizing a document that includes or benefits the notary
- Notarizing his or her own signature
What’s the fine print?
This bond is required by the Secretary of State of Missouri and is issued to coincide with the notary’s four-year term. The surety must give the obligee at least 30 days’ notice prior to cancelling the bond.
The notary can only notarize documents in Missouri. A proper notarization must contain the following four items:
- Signature of notary
- Notarial certificate stating the document was signed before notary
- Signature of the notary as commissioned
- Seal or stamp of notary public
How to become a notary in Missouri
Applications for commission as a notary public can be downloaded from the linked commissions form. To become a notary public in Missouri, all applicants must adhere to the following requirements:
- Minimum 18 years of age
- Registered voter in county for which he or she is commissioned or applying to be commissioned
- Reside in said county
- Ability to read and write in English
- Commission not revoked during past 10 years
Prior to submission of the application, each applicant should read the Missouri notary public handbook and complete computer-based training or other notary training in an acceptable manner. The application must be typed and requires a $25 fee.