Montana Public Adjuster Bond
Purchase your bond instantly online when you choose one of the 3 term options below. Save time and money by extending your bond term. Choosing a longer term now means you pay 25% less for your bond each year and forego the annual renewal process.
1 year term
2 year term - save $12.50!
3 year term - save $25.00!
Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much does a $5,000 public adjuster bond cost in Montana?
A $5,000 Montana public adjuster bond costs $50 per year and can be purchased instantly online. Adjusters can save an additional 25% on their renewal when they purchase a two-year or three-year term at checkout.
Simply click Buy Now to purchase your bond online via our secure bond checkout. Save time and money when you buy your bond online. A few minutes is all it takes to get bonded as a public insurance adjuster in Montana.
Why do I need a public adjuster bond in Montana?
The Office of the Montana State Auditor is in charge of issuing public adjuster licenses in Montana, and public adjusters are required to submit a $5,000 surety bond as part of the licensing process.
Montana public adjuster bonds are required by the Auditor to protect the public from an adjuster’s failure to abide by state rules and regulations. Should any party be harmed due to the actions of a public adjuster, the bond guarantees that $5,000 is available for reparations.
How long is Montana insurance bond in effect?
Public adjuster bonds in Montana remain in effect for 12 months from the date of issuance and must be renewed annually for as long as the individual wishes to continue working as an adjuster. However, the surety does have the right to cancel this bond at any time by providing 30 days’ written notice to the Auditor.
How to obtain a Montana public adjuster license
Applicants looking to become licensed public adjusters in Montana must meet the following requirements, pursuant to Montana Code § 33-17-301:
- Meet the basic requirements.
Be a minimum of 18 years old.
Exhibit a trustworthy manner and good character.
Maintain an office accessible to the public in Montana.
Be a resident of Montana or a resident of state permitting residents of Montana to act as adjusters in other states.
- Pass the adjuster licensing exam.
While a pre-licensing course isn’t required, the public adjuster exam must be passed. The exam is 88 questions, with 1.45 hours allotted for its completion. A handbook can be found here.
You can register for the test through PearsonVUE. For questions, call PearsonVUE at (800) 274-0455.
The exam fee is $59, and it must be paid at the time of reservation by credit card, debit card, or voucher.
- Get fingerprinted through Identogo.
The fee for fingerprinting and a background check is $54. This fee includes the state Department of Justice and Federal Bureau of Investigation check fees.
- Submit your application through the National Insurance Producer Registry.
The license application fee is $50.
- Submit a $5,000 surety bond.
Submit your bond by email via insurance [email protected] or fax to (406) 444-3497.
Note: After receiving a Montana public adjuster license, you must complete the continuing education and license renewal requirements. This includes three hours of ethics and one hour of Montana legislative updates.
Ready to get started?
Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert today.