Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much does a Nebraska liquor tax bond cost?
The Nebraska Liquor Control Commission requires the following license holders to post surety bonds prior to conducting business:
- Class L - Craft Brewery
- Class X - Wholesale Liquor
- Class V - Manufacturer (beer, wine, spirits)
- Class Y - Farm Winery
- Class W - Wholesale Beer
- Class Z - Microdistillery
The required amount of these bonds vary; applicants should verify their required amount of bond coverage with the state prior to bonding.
The best way to find out exactly how much you’ll pay for your Nebraska surety bond is to request your free surety bond quote now!
We can typically provide your free surety bond quote within one business day of submitting your bond application. Call 1 (800) 308-4358 or click here to get started!
Why do I need an alcoholic liquor tax bond in Nebraska?
Alcoholic liquor tax bonds in Nebraska are put in place to ensure that principals (licensees under the Nebraska Liquor Control Commission Act) faithfully perform all terms and conditions of the licenses given to them. Specifically, these bonds guarantee that principals will pay all lawful taxes, fees, assessments, fines, penalties, and costs that become due to the state.
If the principal fails to fully account for these sums, the bond protects the state from financial loss up to the full penal sum of the bond. The principal must reimburse the surety for any damages paid out.
Considerations for Nebraska liquor tax bonds
Liquor tax surety bonds in Nebraska become null and void if violated by a principal. Otherwise, these bonds remain in full force and effect until canceled.
The bond runs concurrently with the term of the principal’s license or licenses. The surety can cancel this bond by giving written notice of cancellation to the Nebraska Liquor Control Commission. Cancellation becomes effective 60 days after notice is received.
How to obtain a Nebraska liquor license
- Choose the application that applies to your distribution situation, and complete the application. After completion, you can email ([email protected]), fax (402-471-2814), or mail your application. To submit the application via Zoom, call 1 (402) 471-2735, 1 (402) 471-2896, or 1 (402) 471-4885.
Retail Liquor License
Brew Pub Liquor License
Farm Winery Liquor License
Microdistillery Liquor License
The application fee for a retail liquor license is $400.
- Determine whether you are applying as an individual, partnership, LLC, or as a corporation.
- Controlling partners will need to get fingerprinted. The type of application will determine who needs to be fingerprinted.
Individual application: applicant and spouse
Partnership application: both partners and their spouse(s)
Limited Liability Company (LLC) applications: corporate manager and spouse; president and spouse; member(s) holding more than 25% of shares and their spouse(s)
Corporation application: corporate manager and spouse; president and spouse; member(s) holding more than 25%of shares and their spouse(s)
- Obtain a liquor license surety bond in the appropriate amount.
- The licensing office will obtain approvals from the local governing body, the fire marshal, the Department of Agriculture, and the State Patrol while processing your application.