Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much does a New Jersey fire alarm, burglar alarm, or locksmith bond cost?
The New Jersey fire alarm, burglar alarm, and locksmith bond costs $250. The state requires these bonds expire on January 31st every 3 years, so your personal premium will vary depending on when you purchase your bond.
How do I get a fire alarm, burglar alarm, or locksmith bond in New Jersey?
You can purchase your New Jersey locksmith, fire alarm, or burglar alarm bond online 24/7. Simply provide your name, county, and license type for Division of Consumer Affairs filing approval. Once your payment is received, a copy of your New Jersey surety bond will be sent to your email instantly. Your official bond documents will be delivered to your preferred mailing address.
How fast can I get a locksmith or security alarm surety bond?
Our industry-leading technology and responsive customer service team allow us to deliver your official New Jersey burglar alarm, fire alarm, or locksmith bond faster than any other surety provider. The DCA requires your New Jersey locksmith or security alarm bond be physically issued and shipped to you, so choose overnight shipping during checkout if you're in a rush. You'll receive a copy of your bond by email within minutes of payment 24/7.
What is a New Jersey burglar alarm, fire alarm, or locksmith bond?
New Jersey Administrative Code 13:31A requires individuals file a $10,000 surety bond with their burglar alarm, fire alarm, and locksmith license applications. The state form is officially titled just “Surety Bond Form” but is more commonly known as the “fire alarm bond," “burglar alarm bond,” or “locksmith bond.” By filing this bond, the licensed professional agrees to comply with the laws enforced by the Board of Examiners of Electrician Contractors Fire Alarm, Burglar Alarm and Locksmith Committee. If they fail to do so, their issuing surety company will pay valid claims up to the full $10,000 bond amount, which the bonded licensee must reimburse.
Who needs a locksmith or security alarm surety bond?
You might need to purchase and file this $10,000 surety bond if you provide the following services in New Jersey.
- access control system installer
- intercom systems installer
- automotive locksmith/car locksmith
- broken key extraction
- burglar alarm installer
- emergency locksmith
- emergency lockout services
- garage door locks
- high security locksets
- lock installation
- lock repair
- locksmith service
- master key systems
- rekey service
- residential locksmith installation
- security system installer
Who regulates fire alarm, burglar alarm, and locksmith businesses?
The New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs Board of Examiners of Electrician Contractors Fire Alarm, Burglar Alarm and Locksmith Committee enforces licensing regulations for fire alarm, burglar alarm, and locksmith professionals, including the $10,000 surety bond requirement. You can contact the Fire Alarm, Burglar Alarm and Locksmith Advisory Committee by calling 1(973)504-6245 or emailing [email protected].
How do I update or change my locksmithing service or security system bond form?
If the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs requires your surety bond documentation to be updated for any reason, contact your surety provider. If you purchased your bond from SuretyBonds.com, email [email protected] to explain the needed change. The most common changes requested are updating your name or county to match your license application.
How do I renew my fire alarm, burglar alarm, or locksmith bond?
You must renew your New Jersey fire alarm, burglar alarm, or locksmith surety bond before its current term expires on January 31st. Once you pay your SuretyBonds.com renewal invoice, a new surety bond form will be issued and sent to you to keep your license active and in good standing.
How do I get a fire alarm, burglar alarm, or locksmith license in New Jersey?
Complete the steps below to apply for your fire alarm, burglar alarm, or locksmith license in New Jersey. Note that you must file separate applications if you want both a fire alarm license and burglar alarm license.
- Fill out your application. You must indicate which license you're applying for at the top of the application.
- Provide your supporting documents, including your examination results and proof of your professional training experience.
- Submit your background check fingerprints.
- Pay your $150 nonrefundable registration form fee; $100 if applying for a second license.
- Provide any additional information as required.
You can also review the application process overview provided by the New Jersey Fire Alarm, Burglar Alarm and Locksmith Advisory Committee.