How much does a notary bond cost in North Dakota?
The North Dakota Secretary of State requires notaries to post $7,500 surety bonds.
SuretyBonds.com issues these bonds instantly. Because no credit check is required, everyone pays just $50 for this 6-year bond! Errors and Omissions Insurance is also available for an additional charge. Simply click “Buy Now” to buy a North Dakota notary bond directly through our site. By purchasing your bond safely and securely through our site,you can be on your way to being bonded as a notary in North Dakota in minutes!
|Bond Type||Bond Amount||Cost|
|$7,500 Notary Bond||$7,500||$50 for 6 years|
|$7,500 Notary Bond with $10,000 Errors and Omissions Insurance||$7,500||$110 for 6 years|
Why do I need this bond?
By posting this bond, principals (notaries) pledge to perform the duties appointed to them in compliance with the laws of the state, city/county and the Federal Privacy Act of 1974. If the notary violates these terms, a claim can be filed against the bond. If the claim is validated, the surety will cover damages suffered by the state and individuals up to the full bond amount ($7,500), and the principal must reimburse the surety for damages paid out.
What’s the fine print?
Notary surety bonds in North Dakota remain valid for 6 years from the effective date. The applicant and a representative of the surety company must sign the bond form before a notary public other than the applicant can authorize it.
How to become a notary public in North Dakota
To be eligible to become a notary public in North Dakota, individuals must:
- be at least 18 years of age
- be a citizen or permanent legal resident of the U.S.
- be a resident of North Dakota, have a place of employment/practice in North Dakota or reside in a county that borders North Dakota and is in a state that extends reciprocity to a notary public who resides in a border county of North Dakota
- be able to read and write in English
The applicant must submit a completed notary application (SFN 11001), a notary bond (SFN 19355) and the $36 application fee made payable to the Secretary of State.
Complete licensing information can be accessed via the Important Links section of this page.