How much do auction bonds cost in Ohio?
If you conduct business as an auctioneer in Ohio, the Department of Agriculture, Auctioneer Program, Enforcement Division requires you to post a $25,000 surety bond. SuretyBonds.com instantly issues these bonds for just $250 - no credit check required!
If you arrange, manage, sponsor or advertise personal property at an auction as a professional auction firm, you must post a $50,000 surety bond. These bonds are subject to underwriting, which means the amount you’ll pay is based on a review of your personal credit report. Applicants with strong financial credentials could qualify to pay 1% of the required bond amount, or just $500!
Bad credit? No problem! Our experts can help you get bonded quickly, easily and accurately. Get started now!
Ready to get bonded? Give us a call at 1 (800) 308-4358. Or, submit a bond request now. One of our surety experts will contact you right away to get you bonded.
Why do I need this bond?
By posting an Ohio auctioneer or auction firm bond, the principal (auctioneer or auction firm) pledges to fully comply with Chapter 4707 of the Ohio Revised Code and all lawful orders and regulations thereunder of the Ohio Department of Agriculture.
What’s the fine print?
Ohio auctioneer and auction firm bonds expire annually on June 30, so your bond premium could be prorated depending on when you buy it. Our team of surety experts works hard to get you bonded according to your specific needs.
How to become an auctioneer in Ohio
Ohio auctioneer application forms must be completed and submitted with the following materials:
- $25,000 surety bond
- Police waiver form
- 2x2” photo (face only) taken within the last 60 days
- appropriate license fee and exam
- original letter on the stationary of a school approved by the Ohio Auctioneers Commission verifying the applicant’s attendance at and graduation from the school
Ohio auction firm applicants must send a completed auction firm application form to the Department of Agriculture, Auctioneer Program, Enforcement Division. All applications must be accompanied by:
- $50,000 surety bond
- Police waiver form
- $100 licensing fee
- $15 examination fee
Complete licensing information can be accessed via the Additional Resources section of this page.
Ready to get started?