Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much does an Oregon auto dealer bond cost?
Oregon auto dealer bond costs vary depending on the license type needed for the state-required 1-year term.
- Special motor vehicle dealer bonds cost $100 for all applicants.
- Motor vehicle dealer or rebuilder bond costs start at $500. Your exact premium will be provided after a quick application underwriting review.
Apply online now to get your quick, easy, and free Oregon auto dealer bond quote!
How do you get an Oregon motor vehicle dealer bond?
You can buy a special motor vehicle dealer bond online 24/7. You can apply for your motor vehicle dealer or rebuilder bond online 24/7 through our safe and secure application portal. You must provide the following information for Oregon Department of Transportation approval.
- business name
- business location
- dealer license number, if available
You'll receive your official auto dealer surety bond by email once your order has been processed.
How fast can I get an auto dealer bond?
Our industry-leading technology and responsive customer service team allow us to offer free quotes and deliver official Oregon auto dealer license bonds faster than any other surety provider. Orders placed by 4 PM CST Monday-Friday are typically processed with same-day emailed auto dealer bond delivery.
If you have any questions about Oregon auto dealer bonds or your application, call 1(800)308-4358 to speak with one of our friendly surety experts.
What is an Oregon motor vehicle dealer bond?
Oregon Revised Statute Section 822.030 requires individuals file a surety bond for auto dealer licensing. These auto dealer bonds protect individuals if a licensed dealer commits fraud or fails to comply with the Oregon vehicle code when operating their dealership. Among other provisions, Oregon vehicle code requires dealers to do the following when operating their dealerships.
- fulfill education requirements
- practice truthful lending practices
- never altar odometers
- never falsely advertise vehicle prices or conditions
Why do Oregon auto dealers need a bond?
By filing this bond auto dealers agree not to commit fraud or violate the state's vehicle dealer code as it pertains to vehicle registration, permits, transfers, or alterations. If a dealership breaks these terms, harmed individuals can file a claim against the auto dealer surety bond. The surety company will pay valid claims up to the full bond amount, which the dealer must reimburse.
Who regulates auto dealer licensing?
The Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles Driver and Motor Vehicle Services enforces license and bond requirements for motor vehicle dealers and rebuilders. If you have questions about the Oregon auto dealer license or your application, call 1(503)945-5052.
Who needs an Oregon motor vehicle dealer bond?
Individuals or businesses licensed as the following auto dealer or dealership types must file a surety bond with the Oregon DOT.
- used auto dealers
- new car dealers
- motorcycle dealers
- moped dealers
- class 1 all-terrain vehicle (ATV) dealers
- snowmobile dealers
What bond amount do Oregon auto dealers need?
Motorcycle, moped, snowmobile, and ATV dealers must file a $10,000 special motor vehicle dealer bond. All other new, used, and recreational vehicle dealers must provide a $50,000 motor vehicle dealer or rebuilder bond.
How do I update or change my bond form?
If the Oregon Department of Transportation requires you to update information on your bond form, contact your surety provider. If you purchased your Oregon motor vehicle dealer or rebuilder bond from SuretyBonds.com, email [email protected] to explain the needed change.
The most common changes for this bond include the dealership's name or address.
How do I renew my auto dealer bond?
You should renew your Oregon auto dealer bond before its current term expires. Once you pay your SuretyBonds.com renewal invoice, renewal instructions will be emailed to you.
How do you get a dealers license in Oregon?
You'll submit your completed application in person or by mail at the DMV Headquarters, Business Regulation Section.
- completed application
- photo ID copies for all owners, partners, LLC members or corporate officers
- Oregon auto dealer surety bond in the correct required amount
- liability insurance certificate
- education certificate or certification of education exemption
Physical Location for Onsite Application Filing
DMV Business Regulation Section
East Annex Building
1965 Lana Ave NE
Salem, OR 9731
1905 Lana Ave NE
Salem, OR 97314