Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much does a preneed funeral services bond cost in South Carolina?
The South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs requires preneed funeral service providers to post surety bonds ranging in amounts from $15,000 to $75,000. The bond amounts are based on the total insurance and trust balance. Applicants should verify their required bond amount with the state prior to bonding.
SuretyBonds.com offers these bonds for different costs depending on each applicant’s individual credit report. Because the required amount and price of this bond can vary so much, we recommend contacting our team of surety bond professionals, who can set you up with your free bond quote quickly and easily!
Call 1 (800) 308-4358 or submit an online bond request to connect with our team of surety bond specialists now!
Why do I need this bond?
South Carolina funeral services bonds ensure that principals (preneed funeral service providers) perform and observe all agreements, covenants, and conditions included in Chapter 7, Title 32, Code of Laws of South Carolina, 1976. Prohibited business practices under this act include:
- failing to put funds (in relation to burials and funerals) into a pre-need escrow account
- engaging in the sale of funeral services without being a licensed funeral director
- misappropriating or illegally withholding trust funds or escrow
- charging unnecessary and unrequited fees
- placing trust funds or earnings at risk or using them as collateral
The bond protects the Department of Consumer Affairs from any claims resulting from the principal’s unlawful or unethical business practices up to the full amount of the bond.
Ready to get bonded quickly and easily? Let our specialists do all of the hard work for you!
What’s the fine print?
Performance bonds of preneed funeral contracts in South Carolina remain in full force and effect unless canceled or violated. The bond can be canceled by the principal or the surety by giving written notice via registered mail to the other party and to the department at least 30 days prior to the effective cancellation date.
How to become a preneed funeral service provider in South Carolina
The South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs requires that a funeral home service provider be licensed to sell Preneed Funeral Contracts. All monies received for a Preneed Funeral Contract must be deposited into a trust account or burial insurance policy. Each Preneed Funeral Contract must be submitted to the Department accompanied by a $20 filing fee, part of which goes into the loss reimbursement fund.
There is an Initial/New Preneed Funeral Contracts licensing fee of $250 and a renewal fee of $200. The Preneed Funeral Contracts License must be renewed by September 30 of every odd-numbered year.
Complete licensing information can be accessed from the "Additional Resources" section of this page.