1 (800) 308-4358
Mon-Fri 7am-7pm CST
  1. 1. Choose A State
  2. 2. Choose A Bond
  3. 3. Enter Your Info
  4. 4. Recieve Your Quote

South Dakota Money Lender Bond

How much does a money lending company bond cost in South Dakota?

The South Dakota Division of Banking requires money lending companies to post $10,000 surety bonds for the first license and $2,500 surety bonds for each additional license.

These bonds are subject to underwriting consideration, so the price you’ll pay depends on a review of your personal credit report. The best way to find out exactly how much you’ll pay for your surety bond is to request your free surety bond quote now!

Bond Type Bond Amount Cost*
$10,000 Money Lender Bond Initial License $10,000 Starts at $150 GET A QUOTE
$2,500 Money Lender Bond Additional License $2,500 Starts at $100 GET A QUOTE

Purchasing the surety bond you need is fast and easy when you work with the experts at SuretyBonds.com! Call 1 (800) 308-4358 or submit a bond request now to get started.

Why do I need this bond?

By posting a South Dakota money lender bond, principals (money lenders) pledge to conduct business in accordance with the provisions of SDCL 54-4. Violations of the bond agreement include:

  • harassing or abusing customers
  • making false or misleading representations
  • engaging in unfair lending practices or activities
  • performing acts of omission or commission that are breaches of trust

These bonds protect the state or any person who suffers loss or damages as a result of the principal’s unlawful business practices up to the full amount of the bond. The principal must reimburse the surety in a timely manner for all damages paid out.

We can provide your free bond quote within 1 business day of submitting your application. Apply now!

What’s the fine print?

Money lender bonds in South Dakota can be canceled by the surety if the surety files written notice with the Division of Banking at least 30 days prior to the effective termination date.

These bonds become effective on the date indicated on the bond form and remain in full force and effect until terminated or canceled.

How to become a money lender in South Dakota

Each money lender location must be separately licensed. All licenses expire on June 30 of each year, and the renewal application must be filed with the South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulations office by June 15.

South Dakota does not currently have any educational, net worth or physical presence requirements for money lenders.

Any changes to application data, such as change of address, contact person, ownership, etc. must be reported to the Division of Banking via an amendment on the application form.

Take the first step toward becoming licensed in South Dakota by purchasing your money lender surety bond quickly and easily!

Ready to get started?

Get a FREE Money Lending Bond Quote Today!

Additional Resources

Money Lender Bond (South Dakota) form

South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation Division of Banking Money Lenders

South Dakota Legislature Chapter 54-4 Money Lending Licenses

South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation Money Lenders - Requirements for Licensure

Overnight Shipping
50,000 Satisfied
Customers Nationwide
No Hidden Fees