How much does a $10,000 notary bond cost in Tennessee?
Tennessee notary bonds are issued instantly for four-year terms, starting at just $50. Errors and omissions coverage is included at no additional charge. Errors and omissions insurance ensures you are not held personally liable for mistakes made while notarizing documents. Visit our blog for more information on this essential coverage.
Simply click Buy Now to buy your bond online instantly. Once your payment has been processed, you wil receive your bond electronically!
|Bond Type||Bond Amount||Cost|
|$10,000 Notary Bond $10,000 Errors & Omissions||$10,000||$50|
|$10,000 Notary Bond $20,000 Errors and Omissions||$10,000||$70|
|$10,000 Notary Bond $25,000 Errors and Omissions||$10,000||$80|
|$10,000 Notary Bond $30,000 Errors and Omissions||$10,000||$90|
Why do notaries in Tennessee need to be bonded?
All notaries in Tennessee must submit a $10,000 notary bond to the Secretary of State prior to being commissioned.
By posting a Tennessee notary public bond, notaries are obligated to faithfully and honestly execute all of their duties. This specific bond also guarantees that notaries will file regular reports of all documents notarized and oaths administered. If the principal (notary) fails to keep all required records safe or commits fraud by verifying a signature known to be forged, the harmed party can file a claim against the bond.
Tennessee notary requirements
Tennessee notary public surety bonds must be filed with the clerk’s office of the county in which the applicant wishes to do business. A person must be a legal U.S. resident and 18 years of age to become a notary public. At the time of election, all notaries must be residents of the county for which they were elected. A county legislative member is not prohibited from becoming a notary public; however, that person cannot vote on his or her own appointment.
Applicants looking to become notaries must not have committed any of the following acts:
- Removal from office of notary public for official misconduct
- Convicted of giving or receiving a bribe
- Had a notarial commission revoked or suspended by the state
- Found guilty in any court of the unauthorized practice of law
Should a notary public move a primary residence out of the relevant county, the individual must notify the county clerk in both the new county and the previous county.
How to become a notary public in Tennessee
Follow these steps to become a notary public in Tennesee:
- Complete an application from your county clerk’s office
- Submit your application to the county clerk’s office with an application fee of $12
- Get elected by the county legislative body
- Obtain a Tennessee notary surety bond
- Provide proof of your surety bond to the county clerk
- Obtain your notary seal
How to become a remote notary in Tennessee
As of July 1, 2019, per Senate Bill 1758, all active notary publics in the state of Tennessee are eligible to perform remote notarizations. In addition to having an active notary commission, notaries must complete the following steps:
- Set up an online account with the Secretary of State, and fill out the online notary application. The initial fee that accompanies the application is $75.
- Review the applicable statutes and state regulations before applying.
- Contract with a third-party technological vendor that will allow you to perform online remote notarizations.
- Provide the Secretary of State with the name and information of your vendor.
Please note: Your online notary commission expires at the same time as your traditional notary commission.