Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much does a Texas certificate of title bond cost?
Texas title bond costs start at $100. The exact cost will vary depending on the surety bond amount required by the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles.
- Bond amounts up to $6,000 cost just $100.
- Bond amounts from $6,001 to $25,000 cost $15 for every $1,000 of coverage, starting at $100.
- Bond amounts for more than $25,000 must be reviewed by an underwriter for pricing, starting at $375.
How do you get a certificate of title surety bond?
You can purchase Texas bonded titles online 24/7. You must provide the following information for Department of Motor Vehicles approval.
- vehicle identification number (VIN)
- vehicle year, make, body type
- lien status (Vehicles with liens are NOT eligible for surety bonds.)
Once your payment has been processed, your surety bond documentation will be issued. You'll receive your official surety bond by email.
How long does it take to get a bond title in Texas?
SuretyBonds.com offers instant Texas title surety bond delivery 24/7. Purchase now to receive your official bond delivered in minutes by email.
*Note: If your bond amount is higher than $25,000, your purchase order will be reviewed by a team member before your documents are emailed.
What is a Texas certificate of title bond?
Texas Transportation Code Section 501.53 requires 3-year surety bonds be filed when registering vehicles with lost, missing, or stolen titles. Texas certificate of title bonds protect prior owners, lien holders, and potential future owners against expenses, losses, or damages resulting from the certificate of title issuance. If the original title is found or recovered, a claim can be made against the bond. The surety company would pay valid claims up to the full bond amount, which the bonded individual would be required to reimburse.
How does a title bond work in Texas?
A bonded title functions the same as a regular vehicle title; it just has a surety bond attached to it. You can sell a vehicle with a bonded title, which does not affect the car's value.
Who regulates vehicle registration for lost titles?
The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles enforces vehicle registration requirements for vehicle owners with lost titles in the state. Individuals file their registration paperwork with their local county offices.
How does the state determine a certificate of title bond amount?
To determine your required bond amount, submit your title application with your local DMV. They will provide a "Notice of Determination Letter" (also known as a "rejection letter") that indicates the exact surety bond amount required for your vehicle. The DMV will calculate your bond amount as 1.5 times the vehicle value.
Why might I need a Texas certificate of title vehicle bond?
You might need a surety bond if you've lost your vehicle's original title or otherwise have insufficient vehicle ownership evidence.
Please note a Texas certificate of title bond is required if you have insufficient vehicle ownership. If you're planning to sell vehicles, a separate Texas motor vehicle dealer bond is required.
How do Texas bonded title applicants file your bond?
You must file your lost title bond with your local DMV/county tax assessor-collector within 30 days of issuance. Bonds not filed within 30 days of issuance will be rejected.
How do I update or change my surety bond form?
If the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles requires your surety bond documentation to be updated for any reason, contact your surety provider. If you purchased your bond from SuretyBonds.com, email [email protected] to explain the needed change.
The most common changes for these bonds include updating the:
- vehicle owner's name
- vehicle owner's address
- vehicle identification number (VIN)
- vehicle information
Do these bonds renew?
Texas title bonds do not renew. Your vehicle will be bonded for 3 years. The Texas DMV will then return the bond to you, the vehicle owner, as long as there are no pending claims against the bond.
How do I apply for a Texas bonded title?
Learn How to Get a Texas Bonded Title by reviewing our comprehensive guide.
Complete the following steps to apply for a bonded title.
1. Determine your eligibility. You must be a Texas resident or military personnel stationed in the state. You must legally possess the vehicle in question, and it cannot be junked or nonrepairable.
2. Submit your bonded title application, photo ID, and any available ownership documentation to your local DMV along with the required $15 fee.
3. Purchase a surety bond in the correct amount required by the Notice of Determination Letter provided by your DMV.
4. File your original bonded title application, surety bond, and Texas title registration application with your local DMV.