How much does a $10,000 metal recycler, secondhand dealer, or secondhand reseller bond cost in Houston, Texas?
Metal recycler, secondhand dealer, or secondhand reseller surety bonds for the city of Houston, Texas cost $100 and are issued instantly. Simply click Buy Now to purchase your bond directly from our site using our secure payment portal. In just a few minutes you can be on your way to getting bonded as a metal recycler, secondhand dealer, or secondhand reseller in Houston, Texas.
|Bond Type||Bond Amount||Cost|
|$10,000 Metal Recycler, Secondhand Metal Dealer, or Secondhand Reseller Bond||$10,000||$100|
Why do I need this bond?
The City of Houston, Department of Administration and Regulatory Affairs requires metal recyclers, secondhand metal dealers, and secondhand resellers to obtain a $10,000 surety bond.
Metal recycler and dealer bonds in Houston, Texas, are put in place to ensure that principals (recyclers, dealers and resellers) comply with the provisions of Article III, Chapter 7 of the Houston Code of Ordinances, all rules adopted under the article and all state laws pertaining to metal recycling entities, secondhand metal dealers or secondhand resellers while on the job. If a dealer fails to conduct business according to these terms, the bond guarantees that the principal will pay any and all legal damages and fines up to the full bond amount that result from his or her wrongful, illegal, or negligent business practices to any person who suffers loss.
What’s the fine print?
Houston metal recycler and secondhand dealer bonds remain in full force and effect throughout the term of the principal’s license.
The original surety bond form and permit fee must be submitted in person to the Administration and Regulatory Affairs Department located on the first floor at 1002 Washington Avenue in Houston, Texas. Applicants must show a valid photo ID, Driver’s License or Government Agency card.
How to become a metal recycler in Texas
To become licensed as a metal recycler, secondhand metal dealer, or secondhand reseller in Houston, applicants must complete the application and provide the city with the following information:
- Business AND applicant name, address, and telephone number
- Requested hours of operation
- Federal and State Tax Identification numbers
- Type of business entity
- Citizen/alien status
Applicants must be at least 18 years old. The director may require additional information before he/she approves a license.
Ready to get started?