How much does a mixed beverage tax bond cost in Texas?
Mixed beverage and private club permittees in Texas are required to post mixed beverage gross receipts tax bonds and mixed beverage sales tax bonds for the payment of taxes. The required amount of these bonds is determined by the Comptroller of Public Accounts and the applicant’s permit type. The required bond amount cannot exceed 4 times the amount of the applicant’s average monthly tax liability or $100,000. Bonds cannot be in amounts less than $1,000. Applicants should verify their required bond amount with the state prior to bonding.
These bonds are subject to underwriting, which means that the price an applicant pays is based on his or her required bond amount as well as on a review of his or her personal credit report. Because these factors can vary so much, our experts recommend submitting a bond request to receive your free, no-obligation bond quote!
Ready to get bonded quickly, easily and accurately? Call 1 (800) 308-4358 or submit a bond request now to get started!
Why do I need this bond?
Texas mixed beverage gross receipts tax bonds and mixed beverage sales tax bonds ensure that principals (permit holders) pay all taxes, interest, penalties and costs as required by Chapters 151 and 183 of the Texas Tax Code. Permittees of mixed beverages must pay a 6.7% tax on their gross receipts. Sales tax bonds have the same purpose as gross receipts tax bonds, except this specific bond ensures that the principal will pay 8.25% of the sales price for each drink sold.
Tax returns must be filed by the 20th day of each month. If the principal fails to file his or her tax return and pay all sums due accordingly, the bond protects the state from resulting financial loss up to the full amount of the bond.
Our experts make purchasing the Texas surety bond you need fast and easy. Get started now!
What’s the fine print?
Mixed beverage sales tax and gross receipts tax surety bonds in Texas remain in full force and effect until canceled. The surety can terminate the bond by giving written notice of cancellation to the Comptroller of Public Accounts. Cancellation becomes effective 30 days after the notice is received.
These bonds are continuous in form from the effective date and will be automatically extended from calendar year to calendar year from January 1 through December 31.
How to become a mixed beverage professional in Texas
Licensing requirements for mixed beverage professionals in Texas vary from license/permit type to license/permit type. For a full description of liquor and beer licenses and permits, visit the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission’s website.
Take the first step toward becoming licensed by purchasing the Texas mixed beverage tax bond you need! We can typically provide your free, no-obligation bond quote within 1 business day of submitting your application.
Ready to get started?