How much does an over axle or over weight permit bond cost in Texas?
The Texas Department of Transportation requires holders of over axle and over gross weight tolerance permits to post $15,000 surety bonds as a licensing requirement.
SuretyBonds.com issues these bonds instantly for just $150 - no credit check required. Purchase your Texas surety bond now!
|Bond Type||Bond Amount||Cost*|
|$15,000 Over Axle and Over Gross Permit Weight Tolerance Bond||$15,000||$150||Buy Now|
Get bonded instantly for just $150 when you choose SuretyBonds.com! Call 1 (800) 308-4358 or click here to get bonded.
Why do I need this bond?
By posting a Texas over axle and over gross weight tolerance permit bond, principals (permit holders) pledge to make payment to the Texas Department of Transportation and to the counties for any and all damages that may be sustained to any highway under the jurisdiction of the Texas Department of Transportation Commission or the County Commissioners Court of any county as a result of the principal’s business. Generally, these bonds ensure that principals comply with the provisions of Chapter 623.011 of the Transportation Code.
The principal is ultimately responsible for reimbursing the surety for any damages paid out.
What’s the fine print?
Over axle and over gross weight tolerance permit bonds in Texas remain in full force and effect indefinitely. The surety can cancel the bond by giving 30 days’ written notice to the Texas Department of Transportation. The surety remains liable for any claims made against the bond during this 30-day period.
What are the licensing requirements?
The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles issues annual over axle/over gross weight tolerance permits for the movement of divisible commodities. This permit is an annual permit that expires 1 year from the “movement to begin” date.
Vehicles and/or vehicle combinations may not exceed Texas legal size limits. Vehicles moving under this permit may travel on county roads and state-maintained roadways, excluding the Interstate Highway System, in those counties selected on the permit application.
To apply for this license, applicants should download and submit Form 1751, Over Axle/Over Gross Weight Tolerance Permit Application by fax to (512) 302-2154 or by mail to the address listed on the application form. This form can be accessed from the Important Links section of this page.
Ready to get started?