How much does a public weigher bond cost in Texas?
The Texas Department of Agriculture requires county and state public weighers to post surety bonds prior to conducting business. County weighers must post $2,500 bonds while state weighers must post $10,000 bonds.
County public weigher bonds are issued instantly for just $100 - no credit check required! State public weigher bonds are subject to underwriting consideration and are issued for 2-year terms. Purchase your Texas surety bond now!
Get bonded quickly and easily when you choose SuretyBonds.com! Call 1 (800) 308-4358 or click here to purchase your Texas surety bond.
Why do I need this bond?
Texas public weigher bonds are put in place to ensure that principals (public weighers) comply with all provisions of the Texas Public Weigher’s Law and all related rules and regulations. Specifically, these bonds ensure that all certificates of weights issued by the principal represent accurate weight or measure of a commodity.
If the principal fails to comply with these terms and conduct lawful business, the bond protects harmed parties from financial loss up to the full penal sum of the bond.
Ready to purchase your Texas surety bond? Start here!
What’s the fine print?
Public weigher bonds in Texas remain in full force and effect. These bond forms and all signatures on them must be acknowledged by a notary public.
How to become a public weigher in Texas
To obtain a certificate of authority to work as a public weigher in Texas, an applicant must submit a completed application (RWM-702), which is obtained from the Department of Agriculture. The applicant must also submit a surety bond (RWM-704) and a Power of Attorney. Scales must be registered with the TDA. Failure to comply with these terms will result in a delay in the application process.
Licenses remain valid for 2 years.
Ready to get started?