Backed by SSL, our online bonding process is secure. We are committed to your privacy.
We shop the top surety markets to find you the best rate.
We’ve streamlined the bonding process to make your experience as fast and easy as possible.
How much does a Vermont rental company tax bond cost?
If your rental company’s yearly tax liability exceeds $5,000, you are required to post a surety bond.
Bond amounts are determined by using the total of the 2 highest months of liability in the preceding year. New rental companies will be required to post a $1,000 surety bond. Bond amounts shall not exceed $400,000.
Bond amounts are given by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles. Be sure to have your given bond amount prior to speaking with a surety specialist. This information is vital in determining your bond quote.
This specific bond type is subject to underwriting, meaning that premiums are based on the financial credentials of your credit report. Speak with a bond expert by calling 1 (800) 308-4358 or send a bond request.
Get your free bond quote by filling out a bond request. Or, call 1 (800) 308-4358 and a surety specialist will assist you with your personal bonding needs.
Why do I need this bond?
By posting a bond, the principal (rental company) agrees to pay all monies required under Title 32 Chapter 219 of Vermont Statutes Annotated. This includes taxes, penalties and fines, in addition to rendering all reports.
Have a concern about your bond? Contact a bond expert through a bond request and get all your questions answered.
What’s the fine print?
All bonds expire annually on December 31. Any liability that has accrued under this bond will remain effective after the bond’s expiration.
What are the licensing requirements?
All rental company applicants must send a completed rental company application to the Department of Motor Vehicles. Each application must be accompanied by the following attachments:
- surety bond
- a listing that gives the VIN and plate number for each unit in the rental fleet
- rental tax report
Hurry and apply for your bond today! Click here for a bond request.
Department of Motor Vehicles: Rental Company License Application
Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles: Rental Company License
Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles Rental Company Tax Report
The Vermont Statutes Online Title 32: Taxation and Finance Chapter 219: Motor Vehicle Purchase and Use Tax
Call 1 (800) 308-4358 to talk with a Surety Expert today.